Super Easy Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by deltadelicious
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
EASY EASY but with a little tweaking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren Ide
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I used 2 cans of cinnamon rolls from ALDI, unrolled them, separated into 4 strands, braided them together and formed the braids into a ring. I'm from New Orleans and usually make one from scratch. This was the BEST kingcake we've ever had!!! I used the icing that came with the cinnamon rolls and sprinkled colored sugar. AWESOME! My kids are so happy to have fresh king cake in IL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this for the Superbowl and it was a hit! Great idea for future Mardi-Gras parties as store bought King Cakes in Western MD are unheard of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I made this for my French class for Mardi Gras. I couldnt find the sweet role so I used cinnimon roles instead. I thought this was a really fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane Whitson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
It was wonderful, but I have a child that is allergic to red dye, so I had to use yellow, purple, and blue instead. When I did that, nobody knew it was for Mardi Gras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Worked out great! Instead of drizziling the frosting all over, I did sections of the colors. I thought it looked prettier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edwardsfamily5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This makes a great king cake! To get purple, mix the blue and red colors like the recipe explains. I've used both the sweet orange roll dough and generic cinnamon roll dough to make this, and both cake out great. Everyone loves eating it, and it looks great too. Toppings: I colored vanilla whipped frosting with gold and purple (red+blue) food coloring, and then used green sugar sprinkles for a most festive look. THANKS FOR A GREAT AND TIME-SAVING KING CAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Well, imagine my surprise when I realized that my Pillsbury cinnamon rolls weren't in pinwheels like they used to be. I should have read more of the reviews to see that others just rolled their dough together and formed the ring. We just made king cake rolls and colored the icing that comes with the rolls and sprinkled a little clear sugar crystals on top. Kids enjoyed it and we had fun. We were making it just for us so no big deal. Kinda reminded me of monkey bread. I liked the idea of making ourselves b/c my main complaint with store bought ones were that they were too dry and way too much sugar and icing on top. I know, that's the point but I'm trying not to turn everyone in my family into diabetics if I can help it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs C

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is the 2nd year I have made it for Mardi Gras. Usually I am person who bakes everything from scratch, but l was short on time last year and had never been to NO much less made a king cake before so I gave this a try and it was so good I made it again this year. The recipe didn't specify, so I used Pillsbury orange sweet rolls because I thought it sounded more New Orleans (not that I have any idea, prob it is not) and I really think the orange added to it and made it hard to tell it was from a can versus plain old cinnamon rolls, though you can use them if you don't like orange. I lightly molded them together to form a ring and baked for 20-30 min. NOT 50-60. Keep an eye on it so it doesn't burn! These rolls come with their own icing, which I think is plenty. For me 2 cans would be too much. The orange-flavored icing is good but because it has a pale yellow-orange color to it the food coloring for the purple is a little tricky. Last year I followed the directions on the back of the food coloring box which calls for more red than blue. Bad idea, it turned out brownish. Instead stay true to this recipe and use equal amounts red and blue (I used 3 of each). Great recipe. I would not have thought of it. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is such a fun recipe! I made it for our Saints Superbowl celebration. Only needed 1 tub of frosting and cinnamon rolls like other reviews have said. I added in 3T of milk to the tub of frosting and I only used sprinkles because I cannot find food coloring anywhere! Loved it! Side note: If you have leftovers, cut yourself a slice and heat it up in the microwave for 15-20 seconds. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States