Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this recipe exactly except in stead of rolling and cutting I it used my hands to shape the balls. As the first doughnuts I've made, I had fairly high expectations. The result was very dense and cake-y but it had a sour milk flavor that I was not at all fond of. Next time I would substitute sour cream for the vinegar and milk, because of its smoother taste and texture. I might also add 1/4 cup more sugar to make them a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We loved these because of how easy they were and we didn't have to wait and wait and wait for them to rise! We rolled ours in cinnamon and sugar - everyone loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Tasty and simple. Only caution not to under cook them or you will have a sticky center. Replaced egg with flax and shortening with coconut oil. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Awesome! Followed directions for the batter. Then, using WET HANDS, I rolled the batter into little balls to make doughnut holes. I would suggest planning on a couple of test batches to make sure the oil is at the correct temp. Rolled them in powdered sugar and dipped them in raspberry jam - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Used coconut oil instead of shortening, and cake flour instead of AP. And 1/2 cup milk 2 Tbsp vinegar and it worked beautifully for dropped doughnut holes! Let them cool a bit then rolled in powdered sugar. All in all a great turnout for my first time making doughnuts. Made about 32 2" doughnut holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Wow, what a fantastic recipe! Thanks! We followed the recipe exactly and I don't understand why anyone would add 1/2 cup when it calls for 3/8 (which is less than 1/2, do the math people!) cup of milk and 2 tbsp of vinegar. Anyways, it was fast, easy and very tasty! Will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Very easy to make. I lessened the water like other reviews suggested and it was not too sticky to roll out. I used biscuit (round cookie) cutters to cut out the shapes with my 3 year old and had a blast. I actually liked the donut holes better, because I rolled them out too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
For a quick morning go-to treat this worked perfectly. I followed the recipe exactly and dipped doughnuts in a simple vanilla glaze. Awesome and kid approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Awesome recipe, they turned out perfect!!! Will definitely be using this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RizzoPhish
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
My 5 year old son and I made these on a Sunday afternoon~Super Easy is right! And tastes sooo good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States