Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I could not roll the dough and the texture was more crumbly than I expected. I used the 1/2 cup milk and added a few drops of almond extract. The result was edible but not near OMG I want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The milk amount seemed odd, so I used the adjusted amount of 1/2 cup, with 1 tsp apple cider vinegar (only vinegar I have),. These are a delicious fried cake doughnut. They come out with a nice golden exterior and a soft cakey inside. The doughnuts have a weak flavor, even though I doubled the vanilla. I made mostly holes and a few free-for donuts, and rolled them in cin/sugar. Overall delicious, and I will continue to play with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Nicole Patton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
First time I tried it seemed too gooey so I added flour, therefore they were much too bready. Second time I decided to stick closely to recipe to avoid first failure and found that the dough was simply too gooey to make donuts therefore I had to make shapeless balls instead. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
i think the amount of sugar is too much, they turned out too sweet, will not make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
These doughnuts were awesome. I did add a little extra milk, about 1/3 cup more. I glazed half with a homemade chocolate frosting and placed them in the freezer for 30 minutes and the other half I just coated with powdered sugar. Very impressed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Love this one, easy, fast, Perfect when you find out company's coming in less than an hour. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joezmc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
My first attempt at doughnuts!!! Such a success:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
When worried about consistency made decision to TRUST THE RECIPE. Glad I did. Perfect. Did add nutmeg and ground clove, to spice up a bit. Lovely!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I didn't like this at all but I think it's because I was wanting the yeast donut taste and this isn't it. More like a cake donut. I do agree with one other poster that it didn't roll out at all and the donuts were very odd shaped. Won't be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
These were delicious! I made them following the recipe for my first batch, then with changes according to my personal taste the second time. Following the recipe "as is," leaves the donuts needing a little extra flavor. So, for my second batch, I added 3/4 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. Nutmeg, and 1 T. Sugar. But if you're putting icing on them, the donuts are sweet enough with the sugar the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States