Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
5 stars! Awesome! After reading the reviews I doubled the recipe but only used 3 tblspn vinegar, added 1 tsp nutmeg, doubled the vanilla. Fried at 375 deg and coated with cinnamon and sugar. Anyone living in upstate NY: These are like "Freihofer's" but BETTER! The family LOVED them! I highly recommend being very careful about adding the milk, the recipe simply calls for too much. You want to end up with a very soft but manageable dough, not a paste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOGGWILD89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Very tasty, but after making recommended adjustments. the milk was still too much. I had to add alot of flour. I rolled when it was still sticky and those were very light but then when I added more to get the correct consistency it was a bit too tough. I will tweak it though. Its very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Just okay. Dough was a bit bland so I added some almond extract for an extra kick. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used 6 tb of milk per the original recipe. Doughnuts came out a little too dense for my liking, and kept bursting as they cooked. I ended up with doughnut flowers rather than holes. I covered mine with cinnamon brown sugar, powdered sugar, and a blackberry cream cheese glaze. I may try this recipe again, but if it doesn't work the second time, I will be looking for another doughnut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I will keep searching for a donut receipe. These were quick and easy, but lacked flavor and were a bit to dry. I did put a 1/2 cup of milk in also, which didn't add and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Easy and fun to make. Not overly sweet which is nice. You can add your own melted chocolate, powered sugar or glaze and they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This recipe was super easy and held up wonderfully to my allergy substitutions, which were; Ener-G egg replacer for egg and oat milk for the milk. I didn't coat them with sugar soon enough so it didn't stick, but they were delicious anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Jean Silence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I gave this five stars,they were delightful and yummy and my kids could not get enough,i will be making theses as often as i can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I lovemyfamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I did not care for this. This was my first attempt at doughnuts. I made again and cut the doughnuts thicker, it came out a little better, however I will try other recipes. Dough had no flavor and was blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veryspoiled1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
these are amazing, and following with just adding 1/2 cup of milk, i found i still had to add some flour at the end when kneading a little, they came out great. We will make them again often, since they won't last long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States