Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I made this recipe twice. First time, to the letter, turned out great, but thought it could use a little more flavor. Second time I used 1 tsp vanilla instead of 1/2, and added 2 TBSP of vanilla instant pudding mix to the flour mixture. It added just enough of the flavor I was looking for. Dont diminsh the vinegar, it needs it for the rising power and will not affect the taste if that's what you're worried about. I found that all the listed amount of ingredients made for a very good consistancy of dough. It was just barely sticky, but by the time you add the flour for rolling it is fine. You don't want to overwork the dough with too much flour or it will become tough. try to handle as little as possible. I used a mason jar lid for the cut out and the top of of two liter bottle for the center cut. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I read the other reviews before trying this recipe on my own, i used 1/2 cup of milk and a tbsp. of vinegar and was expecting a 'runny' mixture since the other reviews mentioned that it will take a good amount of flour to get it to a rollable consistency so here's what i did: 1)i dropped a spoonful of dough onto a mound of flour and worked it lightly with my fingertips to get a soft rollable dough and cut out doughtnut holes 2) i dropped spoonfuls of the dough directly into the frying pan the RESULTS: i felt the rollaed doughnuts had a more flourey taste and were slightly dense. the douhgnuts i made dropping batter directly into the oil were soft and light and tasted like dunkin donuts cake doughnuts BUT i will say that its a lot trickier to fry them by dropping spoonfuls because if the oil is too hot they wont cook compltely from the centre and if the oil isnt hot enough then they will take longer to cook and you'll end up with a really oily doughnut. so i guess the next time i try this recipe i will try to control the temperature of the oil and droop 1/4 teaspoonfuls at a time to get a bite sized doughnut that's perfectly cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I would rename this recipe "super easy carnival food". It was good tasting, but definitely not a breakfast food. The yield was pretty decent for my family of 4. I will try it again and maybe use more flour, because the dough was so sticky, i used spooned drops into the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delaineyrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
5 stars! Awesome! After reading the reviews I doubled the recipe but only used 3 tblspn vinegar, added 1 tsp nutmeg, doubled the vanilla. Fried at 375 deg and coated with cinnamon and sugar. Anyone living in upstate NY: These are like "Freihofer's" but BETTER! The family LOVED them! I highly recommend being very careful about adding the milk, the recipe simply calls for too much. You want to end up with a very soft but manageable dough, not a paste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOGGWILD89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Very tasty, but after making recommended adjustments. the milk was still too much. I had to add alot of flour. I rolled when it was still sticky and those were very light but then when I added more to get the correct consistency it was a bit too tough. I will tweak it though. Its very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Just okay. Dough was a bit bland so I added some almond extract for an extra kick. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used 6 tb of milk per the original recipe. Doughnuts came out a little too dense for my liking, and kept bursting as they cooked. I ended up with doughnut flowers rather than holes. I covered mine with cinnamon brown sugar, powdered sugar, and a blackberry cream cheese glaze. I may try this recipe again, but if it doesn't work the second time, I will be looking for another doughnut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I will keep searching for a donut receipe. These were quick and easy, but lacked flavor and were a bit to dry. I did put a 1/2 cup of milk in also, which didn't add and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Easy and fun to make. Not overly sweet which is nice. You can add your own melted chocolate, powered sugar or glaze and they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This recipe was super easy and held up wonderfully to my allergy substitutions, which were; Ener-G egg replacer for egg and oat milk for the milk. I didn't coat them with sugar soon enough so it didn't stick, but they were delicious anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States