Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
The best doughnuts I have tasted in a while. Quick and very easy to make. They go really well with a glaze. Thanks for the recipe I'll definatly be using it again. Ten thumbs up =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoungChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Didsbury, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
this was really good!!!!!... it turned out perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Bland, very little flavor. Dough cooked too fast on the outside and was left doughy in the center. I definitely will not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Didn't love these. I followed the directions to the letter and they were dry and crumbly, and didn't really taste like anything but fried dough. They weren't dense enough for cake donuts and weren't light enough for regular donuts. Maybe next time I'll find a recipe that uses yeast. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
These turned out great. My son requested doughnuts for his birthday breakfast. I followed the recipe exactly. My son loved them. My daughter thought they were too crispy. Personally I liked the crispy outsides and light fluffy insides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
THIS RECIPE SHOULD BE 10000000 STARS ITS SUPER EASYAND I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE THE TASTE THE LOOOK EVERYTHING IM ONLY 13 BUT I MADE THESE ON MY OWN AND THEY WHERE GONE WITHIN SECONDS I didnt have powdered sugar so I mixed flour +sugar and dipped in the pastries ! this recipe makes 14-15 but its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina115
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
We couldn't stop eating these, they were so good! We did half dipped in powdered sugar and half in a cinnamon/sugar mixture. The cinnamon/sugar mixture stayed on better, but both were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I made this recipe twice. First time, to the letter, turned out great, but thought it could use a little more flavor. Second time I used 1 tsp vanilla instead of 1/2, and added 2 TBSP of vanilla instant pudding mix to the flour mixture. It added just enough of the flavor I was looking for. Dont diminsh the vinegar, it needs it for the rising power and will not affect the taste if that's what you're worried about. I found that all the listed amount of ingredients made for a very good consistancy of dough. It was just barely sticky, but by the time you add the flour for rolling it is fine. You don't want to overwork the dough with too much flour or it will become tough. try to handle as little as possible. I used a mason jar lid for the cut out and the top of of two liter bottle for the center cut. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I read the other reviews before trying this recipe on my own, i used 1/2 cup of milk and a tbsp. of vinegar and was expecting a 'runny' mixture since the other reviews mentioned that it will take a good amount of flour to get it to a rollable consistency so here's what i did: 1)i dropped a spoonful of dough onto a mound of flour and worked it lightly with my fingertips to get a soft rollable dough and cut out doughtnut holes 2) i dropped spoonfuls of the dough directly into the frying pan the RESULTS: i felt the rollaed doughnuts had a more flourey taste and were slightly dense. the douhgnuts i made dropping batter directly into the oil were soft and light and tasted like dunkin donuts cake doughnuts BUT i will say that its a lot trickier to fry them by dropping spoonfuls because if the oil is too hot they wont cook compltely from the centre and if the oil isnt hot enough then they will take longer to cook and you'll end up with a really oily doughnut. so i guess the next time i try this recipe i will try to control the temperature of the oil and droop 1/4 teaspoonfuls at a time to get a bite sized doughnut that's perfectly cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States