Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
What a mess!I'm only giving these a two because my kids are devouring them right now and I didn't have to trash them. I doubled this recipe and followed the advice of the majority of reviewers who used less milk than called for. Even doing this I still had to add WAY more flour and still these were not workable enough to roll out. I ended up using a mini cookie scooper and just scooping in the dough into the oil. What I ended up with were puffed up weird biscuit looking things, not the donut holes I was hoping for. I guess that can be expected when I couldn't roll the stuff up into a ball in the first place. As far as the taste it was nothing special. We all thought it tasted like a big glob of funnel cake/elephant ear dough. This isn't a bad thing necessarily but it sure wasn't what I was going for. So I'm going to have to agree with the reviewer who said this recipe actually made them angry. I totally felt the same way when I carefully followed the instructions and measurements and ended up with something almost unusable. I wasn't expecting spectacular donut shop style donuts but I also wasn't expecting funnel cake balls either. So I say make at your own risk. I double it because having three kids and a husband everything goes quickly. Man do I wish I wouldn't have doubled this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Can I use butter instead of shortening? Also is there a substitute for white vinegar? Cider vinegar was mentioned in one of the comments, but I don't have that either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
My son may have a milk allergy so we are going milk-free. He was devastated that donuts in stores have milk. I used this recipe but substituted water in for the milk. They turned out just as well as when I had used milk previously. He is thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very good! I made these as drop holes and then dropped them in a simple glaze. On the last batch I made, I added a bit of nutmeg and cinnamon to the batter. Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I made these donuts this evening, and Boy, were they a huge success in the household!!! I substituted the vinegar and milk with "buttermilk" I used WHAT THE RECIPE ASKED FOR 3/8 milk and they were soooooooooooo incredibly easy and delicious. Folks around here were eating them by the 3's (big smiles here) I am copying this recipe over and over and over and keeping it in all my cookbooks. (Just a bit of advice, when it came to measuring the 3/8 cup of milk my mom told me to measure using the 1/4 cup measure three (3) times - and again, I can't stop raving about these delicious, mouth-watering donut recipe. God Bless you and thanks a million!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Great doughnut easy to make but I did up the vanilla to 1teaspoon and add 1teaspoon of cinnmon and 1teaspoon of nutmeg. and eat them plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Easy to to make, forgiving, have added a daub of sour cream. Made this many times. I frosted them with chocolate icing, sugared them, powdered them. Today we had 11 inches of snow so I am making these for the crew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woollysheep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this recipe exactly except in stead of rolling and cutting I it used my hands to shape the balls. As the first doughnuts I've made, I had fairly high expectations. The result was very dense and cake-y but it had a sour milk flavor that I was not at all fond of. Next time I would substitute sour cream for the vinegar and milk, because of its smoother taste and texture. I might also add 1/4 cup more sugar to make them a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We loved these because of how easy they were and we didn't have to wait and wait and wait for them to rise! We rolled ours in cinnamon and sugar - everyone loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Tasty and simple. Only caution not to under cook them or you will have a sticky center. Replaced egg with flax and shortening with coconut oil. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States