Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
These were delicious! I made them following the recipe for my first batch, then with changes according to my personal taste the second time. Following the recipe "as is," leaves the donuts needing a little extra flavor. So, for my second batch, I added 3/4 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. Nutmeg, and 1 T. Sugar. But if you're putting icing on them, the donuts are sweet enough with the sugar the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Very good recipe! I made it exactly as described and it was perfect. Make sure you have a thermometer to measure oil temperature. The oil was too high at first and the doughnuts were not cooked (liquid) in the middle. If it is too low, the doughnuts cook too long and get crispier. Perfect temperature was between 360 to 375F. Make sure also not too overwork or over mix the dough or it will get hard when fried. Just mix enough to mix the ingredients together, but no more. Then it will come out perfectly! The 3/8cup (or 6tablespoon) milk works perfectly with the 2T vinegar. No need for substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
super easy!!!! came out really good...super moist but need to tastier! Over all would use this recipe again next time I'm going to try the yogurt. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
The doughnuts turned out really hard, i have no clue why. could someone help me out in where i went wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This Recipe was great! It was exactly what I needed today! My Father came over and was reminiscing about how his mother used to make homemade doughnuts a lot when she was alive. So I went on a hunt for fast and easy doughnuts! This is Deff. a keeper! we made doughnut holes, and rolled them in sugar and they were gone very quickly! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dexter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
It is the most amazing donut recipe out there! This is now the family donut recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
What a mess!I'm only giving these a two because my kids are devouring them right now and I didn't have to trash them. I doubled this recipe and followed the advice of the majority of reviewers who used less milk than called for. Even doing this I still had to add WAY more flour and still these were not workable enough to roll out. I ended up using a mini cookie scooper and just scooping in the dough into the oil. What I ended up with were puffed up weird biscuit looking things, not the donut holes I was hoping for. I guess that can be expected when I couldn't roll the stuff up into a ball in the first place. As far as the taste it was nothing special. We all thought it tasted like a big glob of funnel cake/elephant ear dough. This isn't a bad thing necessarily but it sure wasn't what I was going for. So I'm going to have to agree with the reviewer who said this recipe actually made them angry. I totally felt the same way when I carefully followed the instructions and measurements and ended up with something almost unusable. I wasn't expecting spectacular donut shop style donuts but I also wasn't expecting funnel cake balls either. So I say make at your own risk. I double it because having three kids and a husband everything goes quickly. Man do I wish I wouldn't have doubled this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Can I use butter instead of shortening? Also is there a substitute for white vinegar? Cider vinegar was mentioned in one of the comments, but I don't have that either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
My son may have a milk allergy so we are going milk-free. He was devastated that donuts in stores have milk. I used this recipe but substituted water in for the milk. They turned out just as well as when I had used milk previously. He is thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very good! I made these as drop holes and then dropped them in a simple glaze. On the last batch I made, I added a bit of nutmeg and cinnamon to the batter. Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States