Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This Donuts are quick easy, and my husband and daughter loved them. They also have the bonus of being lower in sodium, than most of the donut recipes one usually finds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I think the milk amount should be halved. This recipe is the one my grandmother, mother, and I have used for years, but mine takes the same amount of milk and vinegar, but DOUBLE the amount of everything else. Just use half the amount of milk and vinegar listed in this recipe and they will turn out fine. I have make this "half batch" of about 18 doughnuts many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I loved these, they were light and fluffy and reminded me of when my mother made doughnuts when I was a child. I agree with alot of other reviews, they needed more dry ingredients or less wet (I simply added more flour until it was at a soft, roll-able texture). I don't know about going as low as 160 on the oil temp tho, mine worked great at 375, and started cooking slower when the oil cooled down to 350, I would imagine keeping the oil so low (the 160) would make them greasy. Wish we had powdered sugar to glaze them, but they were good with a sprinkling of granulated sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
5 Stars!!! Great use of ingredients,was shocked that you can use white vinegar this way. Wife loves `em! This one is a keeper!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I rated this 5 for taste but it turned out so well because I followed the others' recommendation to only add 1/2 cup milk. Doing it that way, it turned out PERFECT. I lightly wet my fingers before working with the dough and did dropped donut holes instead of traditional donuts. Keep in mind that the holes will about double in size when they expand in the oil! We topped with cinnamon/sugar, powdered sugar, or chocolate syrup. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I was at first a little iffy about the vinegar, but at the end I was pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnna L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
It was ausome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Delicious, but yes, more dry ingredients were needed. Mine was batter when it should have ben dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
these are great!!! very tasty when dipped in cinnamon and sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYMCKILLIP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pacific City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Was having quite the craving for some donuts NOW and this did the trick! Like almost everyone else, I cut the milk down to 1/2 cup and they came out perfect! Had just a few drops of vanilla left, so I added a little anise extract which made them really good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States