Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Like the other reviewers 1/2 cup of milk was plenty. I also made some without the final dusting of sugar and some with. We found that the doughnuts did not need the final dusting of sugar. They were great without it. Best recipe I have found yet for doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green_Farmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I didn't really care for this recipe that much! It was easy to follow, and everything! But I ended up having to add more flour than the recipe called for, it might have been because of the weather, I'm not sure! But I ended up just following all the steps and adding a 1/2 cup extra of shifted flour, then I rolled out the dough, and used a doughnut cutter, and I just rolled the dough into little balls and deep fried them and coverd them in powder sugar, and it reminded me of a funnel cake, it was delioious though!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Needed more flour to make them moldable, and then the finished donut sticks I made were too dense, just not very good. Still worthy for morning coffee, but I'll look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
these were good but lacked a great flavor. Needs lots of tweeks to make them taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni Haverfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Vernon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patidee
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
(photo#8) i substituted donut receipe for Phillsberry Buttermilk Biscuits; DEEP fry each in veg oil few minutes, turning til golden-brown all sides (don't overcook them, if they are cooking too fast, lower flame, othewise insides will be sticky); they will be about the size of a lemon, or 3bites; allow to cool on paper towel about 20 minutes before filling. i found a filling receipe for 'raspberry sauce' as follows: One 12oz bag of frozen raspberries (not in syrup) ½ cup + 3 TB of water ¾ cup white sugar/Splenda 1 TB lemon juice 3 TB cornstarch ¼ cup cold water Gently simmer the raspberries, water, sugar and lemon juice for 15 minutes, in a small heavy bottomed pan. After 15 minutes, you can push the berries through a sieve if want a seedless filling (I got rid of the seeds). Bring the strained berries back to a full simmer. Dissolve the cornstarch in the ¼ cup of water and whisk it into the simmering berries. Bring it back to a boil, and simmer for another five minutes. Cool/chill completely. It will thicken as it cools. i followed this receipe exactly and the Raspberry sauce was slightly tart, absolutel delish!; i would not make any change in the amount of sugar unless you like it sweet-sweet; i cooled the filling overnight, but i think it would be okay if refrigerated an hour or two; i used a pastry bag with the long tip; also; poked side of the donut with tip of a knife where pastry tip inserted to prevent squeezing donut; dust TOPs of donuts with conf. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patidee
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this recipe 2 in one day and my neighbors and family loved them! SSOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOODDDD!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These were easy and great. First time making donuts and got the oil a little hot. Next time I'll make sure to get the temp stabilized before I start :) Did anyone try to add cocoa to make chocolate? I might try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by usmccopwife43
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These where out standing and yummy after trying another donuts recipe that had the texture of bagels I was kinda eager to try another. When I saw the picture on here with the fully look of a cakey donut I was like I must try old fashion cakey donuts are my favorite sure enough I found my favorite donut at last and I can make them and enjoy them with my tea you must definitely try :) they are outstanding. You can't even taste the white vinegar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmccopwife43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terryville, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
If making doughnut holes, be sure to make them small so they won't burn on the outside and stay doughy on the inside. I found they work better as doughnut rings instead of holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 81-90 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States