Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very good! I made these as drop holes and then dropped them in a simple glaze. On the last batch I made, I added a bit of nutmeg and cinnamon to the batter. Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I made these donuts this evening, and Boy, were they a huge success in the household!!! I substituted the vinegar and milk with "buttermilk" I used WHAT THE RECIPE ASKED FOR 3/8 milk and they were soooooooooooo incredibly easy and delicious. Folks around here were eating them by the 3's (big smiles here) I am copying this recipe over and over and over and keeping it in all my cookbooks. (Just a bit of advice, when it came to measuring the 3/8 cup of milk my mom told me to measure using the 1/4 cup measure three (3) times - and again, I can't stop raving about these delicious, mouth-watering donut recipe. God Bless you and thanks a million!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Great doughnut easy to make but I did up the vanilla to 1teaspoon and add 1teaspoon of cinnmon and 1teaspoon of nutmeg. and eat them plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Easy to to make, forgiving, have added a daub of sour cream. Made this many times. I frosted them with chocolate icing, sugared them, powdered them. Today we had 11 inches of snow so I am making these for the crew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woollysheep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this recipe exactly except in stead of rolling and cutting I it used my hands to shape the balls. As the first doughnuts I've made, I had fairly high expectations. The result was very dense and cake-y but it had a sour milk flavor that I was not at all fond of. Next time I would substitute sour cream for the vinegar and milk, because of its smoother taste and texture. I might also add 1/4 cup more sugar to make them a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We loved these because of how easy they were and we didn't have to wait and wait and wait for them to rise! We rolled ours in cinnamon and sugar - everyone loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Tasty and simple. Only caution not to under cook them or you will have a sticky center. Replaced egg with flax and shortening with coconut oil. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Awesome! Followed directions for the batter. Then, using WET HANDS, I rolled the batter into little balls to make doughnut holes. I would suggest planning on a couple of test batches to make sure the oil is at the correct temp. Rolled them in powdered sugar and dipped them in raspberry jam - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Used coconut oil instead of shortening, and cake flour instead of AP. And 1/2 cup milk 2 Tbsp vinegar and it worked beautifully for dropped doughnut holes! Let them cool a bit then rolled in powdered sugar. All in all a great turnout for my first time making doughnuts. Made about 32 2" doughnut holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Wow, what a fantastic recipe! Thanks! We followed the recipe exactly and I don't understand why anyone would add 1/2 cup when it calls for 3/8 (which is less than 1/2, do the math people!) cup of milk and 2 tbsp of vinegar. Anyways, it was fast, easy and very tasty! Will definitely make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banars

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States