Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I actually liked this. Mine turned out to be more like pancakes than doughnuts. My husband said that they tasted like this fried dough that he used to get back in NY. He liked them, so I guess it was a good thing. The only different thing I did was drop them into the pan so I guess that's one reason they came out like pancakes..lol. I dusted mine with powered sugar and cinnamon and sugar and they tasted good. I'm not sure if I'll make this again, but it was easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe. The dough was very sticky (I used 3/8 cup of milk, like stated). I couldn't cut out the donots, so I just rolled them. The turned out pretty good, but soaked up a lot of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadian Content

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Very easy, and great taste. We dipped the doughnuts in powdered sugar and some in cinnamn and sugar. My husband an I had a great time making these together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gibby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I was not satisfied with these doughnuts at all. They were fine right out of the grease, but 1/2 hour later, they were hard and tasteless. Not worth the trouble in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I also changed the milk quantity per suggestions from other reviewers. I did have to add a little more flour. I also just made donut holes and they worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
If you're considering making these I have to honestly say DON'T! You'll be wasting time and ingredients on something that WILL NOT turn out right AT ALL. The first batch fell completely apart in the fryer, so I tried wetting my fingers with milk in order to reduce the stickiness, doing so for the second batch helped slightly, on the third batch I made the doughnuts bigger and they turned out decent, but the taste was SUPER GREASY and crumbely. Save yourself the effort and go down to your local store and buy a dozen doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oleander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I am a firm beleiver in don't messing with the recipes until you try it first. I have no Idea what went wrong but as for frying them, Mine fell apart and soaked up alot of grease (@375) I thought the dough was alot like a sugar cookie dough so I baked them in the oven @400 worked good and with some frosting was able to use the dough and not throw it out. I'll look else where for a drop doughnut. sorry just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Wow...I was so disappointed....I followed advice from others and the dough was so runny I couldn't work with it and it was awful,awful tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
These are great and really super easy. I did what a lot of the previous reviewers said and only used 1/2 cup milk. I only had white wine vinegar so I used that. I also substituted 1/2 of the flour with whole wheat flour to give them a little bit of fiber. I let my kids get all sticky and roll out the donut holes and they had a blast! We fried them in about 1/2 cup of vegetable oil in a skillet and let them drain on paper towels. Confectioners sugar, chocolate syrup, and cinnamon sugar were all used for toppings. A huge hit for a great Saturday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
not enough flavor. i also over cooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States