Super Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This was a great recipe, but I tweaked it in a handful of ways. -I only used 32 oz of broth -I used 2 cans of cream of chicken, 1 can of cheesy soup -I cubed the chicken, didn't shred -I used 10 oz, not 20, of biscuit dough, cut the biscuits into eights and that was plenty I also mashed some red potatoes in a separate pot, salted and peppered to taste then put them on the bottom of each dinner bowl and put the chicken and dumpling 'soup' on top. Mixed together it made for an extremely nice, thick, stew. Very hardy and very filling! I didn't put the mashed potatoes in with the mixture in the original pot simply b/c there wasn't enough room. If there had been, I would have. All in all, I like my version better and got rave reviews from the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
My Dad and I made this recipe...sort of. Instead of using canned broth, we boiled chicken breasts to use in it and used the stock. We added the c. o. c. soup as directed. Another variation we used was, rather than biscuit dough, we used frozen dumplings. SO good!! It's not my Mom's CND, but in a way, it's just as good! Creamy and thicker than hers, and with the c. o. c. soup, VERY chicken-y, but not overly chicken-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenzy_Shelton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
It was good. I had never had chicken & dumplings before. Its soup not thick like gravy. I thought it was thick....but really had no idea. Use a big pan as the buscuits do swell and take up room also the person who had the biscuits clump together must've dumped the cut, stuck together group all in at once. Make sure each biscuit piece is put in on individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
good. sierra used onions and carrots instead of froz vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was a terrific recipe, my whole family loved it. I used butter flaky biscuits jumbo size (16 oz) which was awesome cause some of the layers fell apart and made some thinner dumplings. I also softened one chopped onion in a tbsp of butter then added the liquid and followed the recipe. I added a can of sliced carrots at the end of cooking time and a couple dashes of black pepper. Very yummy, thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I really, really wanted to love this, but I didn't. My favorite comfort food is Southern Chicken and Dumplings. (And, at least where I come from, we don't use veggies, etc.; it's pretty much chicken cooked in water/stock with a little celery, onion, salt and pepper. Then the chicken meat is removed from the bones, fat, etc. and returned to the pot with the strained stock. Dumplings are made with cold water, rolled and cut into strips.) So, I wasn't looking for veggies or anything, but this was still a huge miss for me. I don't know exactly what I didn't like about it. Perhaps there was too much cream of chicken soup? And, the biscuit dumplings weren't right, even cooked they were too puffy and doughy. Maybe if I'd rolled the biscuits and then cut them and reduced the cream of chicken soup to one can? I'm just not sure. Anyway, I'm glad so many others have loved this recipe - only wish I felt the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I used frozen chicken breast, added a bunch of seasonings, and frozen peas. It was delicious! Even the kids asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Easy, quick, and awesome! Definitely adding this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookneal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
No one in my family liked this. It was very plain all we tasted was the cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
LOVED IT!! So did my picky kids. I did sub cream of chicken soup, I was out of it, with cheddar cheese soup. It was awesome! It gave it a nice creamy cheesy taste, I will be using this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States