Super Easy Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This was OK the first time I made it (following exact) so, the second time around, I tweaked it and that was much tastier! I sauteed an onion and a tablespoon of crushed garlic in some butter. Then added a cup of milk, 1 tsp parsley, 1 tsp Thyme and 1 tsp Sage. Simmered for a few minutes. Then I started this recipe as listed here. I also added a bag of frozen peas & carrots. For the dumplings, I used one tube of grands and cut them into eighths instead of quarters. Covered and simmered for 20 minutes stirring every 5...perfect! Much better with the added seasonings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mr.mom
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This recipe was great! Very little effort with a big payoff at the end. I added minced garlic and black pepper to knock everyone's socks completely off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was so quick and easy. Whole family loved it. The kids gobbled it up. Only thing I did differently was add little garlic powder, onion powder and pepper to broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
My whole family loves this recipe. It is amazing that something so simple can be so incredibly delicious! This is comfort food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Very tasty and super easy. Next time I will add peas and celery. I also want to try serving the 'soup' on top of already cooked biscuits, instead of making dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made this by cutting the chicken into 2" chunks and seasoning them with Slap Ya Mama cajun seasoning. I then quick-browned them in bacon grease, and then followed the recipe as written. It was so good, I had rave reviews from everyone who tried it! This is definitely a go-to dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Very good, although more like chicken & biscuits. I added a bag of frozen mixed veggies and used a few less biscuits pieces. My husband love it! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
5 stars! I buy rotisserie chickens 2-3 at a time at a major discount club, then shred the meat and parcel in 2 cup portions in a zip top bag, then freeze them flat to save space in the freezer. I tweaked it because I used AR's recipe for "Cream Soup Base," which makes 2 cans of condensed soup, and I added a chopped yellow squash, a chopped zucchini, and fresh mushrooms. The soup thickened up, so I added the last 1/2 cup of chicken stock that was left from my 16oz containers, and it's perfect for lunches tomorrow. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight! I used tortilla's cut up, who would have thought. The tortilla's swelled up like dumplings and were great!! I was very sceptable and geez was I wowed! I did add a dash of salt and pepper for taste and a little garlic powder. We will definitely have this again!!It was amazing the stars would not let me rate it properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphysboro, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I made this last night,and must say it was better than I thought it would be,and much better than the picture being shown. I listened to the reviewers,and made a few changes like they did. 1can c.of celery/1can c.of chicken/ no wanter,added chic.broth instead.. I had about 6small boneless/skinless thighs,and they were very jucy,I added the onions/and cut up celery on the bottom,and cut up the biscuits as suggested. It smelled just fabulous while cooking, about 5hrs.on hi;and 1/2hr.w/the biscuits. DH loved it alot,and I really liked it too. I would prefer having the chicken and gravy w/rice,and leave the biscuits out all together,but DH liked it so I'll just make some rice for me next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States