Super Duper Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
These were perfectly tender and delicious. Sorry to rate a recipe I changed so much but per other reviews, I used half wheat flour, half brown sugar, 1 1/2 tsp. each baking powder and soda, butter, and extra milk (about 3/4 c. total). Topped with brown sugar, flour, butter mixture. Kids gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
The texture was perfect and it was so delicious! Tip for mixing in the shortening: blend the shortening with the raw zucchini and use the backside of a spoon to kind of smash them together against the side of a bowl. Then add eggs and other liquids. I found that to be easier than mixing the shortening with the solids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virginiajacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Fantastic! I just added a bit more zucchini (about 2 cups), doubled the sour milk and skipped the brown sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Dry out pretty fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Really good! Used mostly whole wheat flour and used butter and yogurt in place of shortening and sour milk. Added 2tbsp grd flax. Didn't need sugar on top. Kids gobbled them up! Oh, also used shredded carrot for extra veggies. Added extra almond milk cause so thick, also pumpkin pie spice from this site, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This is a nice start for a good recipe. However, it does lack a bit of flavor. First batch I made according to the recipe. Second batch had a few modifications - butter instead of shortening gave a better flavor. I added a half of a grated apple and about 3/4 cup of grated carrots. I also doubled the cinnamon, halved the nutmeg, added a bit of allspice and a tiny bit of ground cloves. So, it really becomes a different recipe, but the base of the recipe is good. I was a bit surprised at how dry and dense the batter was, but the muffins turned out moist, light and delicious. This is a recipe I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
These turned out really good - just be sure not to overmix the batter. This seems to be the secret of moist cupcakes. Anyways, the only changes I made were to use butter instead of shortening, and I omitted the nuts as these were for my daughter's snack at school, and can't bring anything in that has nuts in case someone has a nut allergy. Oh, and I forgot the brown sugar sprinkling on top, but they still turned out good. Great way to get your kids to eat some veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly except I left out the walnuts. These are absolutely delicious and I've tried many zucchini muffin recipes over the many years that we have grown zucchinis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
SO GOOD! I only made a couple slight changes to this. I didn't have shortening so I used margarine. I omitted the walnuts and added a shredded carrot as suggested by another reviewer. Also instead of sour milk I used greek yogurt. They took a little longer than 20 minutes to bake because I overfilled the cups. They taste amazing. Incredibly moist. I will definitely make these muffins again. I like that the recipe is easy to throw together in basically one bowl with one spoon without having to dig out the mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Made this recipe as written, and am so happy with how they turned out!! My family loves them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States