Super Duper Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
We made this recipe a bit healthier...a delicious breakfast treat! I used freshly ground whole wheat instead of white flour, cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup, used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon (kept nutmeg at 1 tsp), upped the salt to 1 tsp (but used yummy sea salt), used cold butter in place of shortening, used 1/2 cup plain yogurt as we didn't have sour milk on hand, used 2 cups zucchini, and a whole cup of the walnuts. I could not even stir the batter, it was so thick, and so added a splash of milk -- worked like a charm. These muffins were not light and fluffy as others attested to, no doubt because of the whole wheat, butter, and extra nuts. They were hearty, tasty, and very satisfying. We will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
With just a few changes/additions, these are my family's favorite breakfast on the go! I substitute 1 C whole wheat flour and 1/2 shredded apple and one shredded carrot for 1/2 C of the zucchini. I also heap the t of cinnamon and have switched to pumkin pie spice (as I was out of nutmeg). It adds a little zing and they are super moist! IQF them on a cookie sheet for about 10 minutes after they are completely cooled and then throw them in a Ziploc for easy storage. When someone wants one, zap it at 50% power for 30 sec and full power for 15. It's just like they were straight out of the oven! Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
Wow! These are the best muffins I have ever had. The texture and flavour are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Unbelievable!!! Moist and delicious...I followed the recipe exactly. I had quit making muffins because no matter what I did, they always came out a very dissappointing, but not so with this recipe, it's fabulous...give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I hate rating recipies if I've altered the ingredients, because then I'm not rating the one listed but the one I created. But I feel, for this recipe, my changes didn't alter the end product that much, and if anything, the original recipe may even be better. Instead of all white flour, I use 1 1/4 white, 1/2 cup of whole wheat, 1/2 c flaxseed meal and 1/2 c wheat germ. I left the sugars the same and used 2 heaping tsp. of cinnamon and 1 heaping tsp. of nutmeg. I used probably more like 1 2/3 cup of shredded zucchini, which I squeezed out first. The same amount of milk and salt and real butter rather than shortening (I don't do fake foods). These muffins were OUT OF THIS WORLD. I'd never had zucchini muffins before, so I was surprised at the nice sweet taste these had. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
EXCELLENT! These are really tasty. We just finished making them and my family is WOWED! We did some of the adjustments from previous reviews and they turned out perfect. We added 1/8 cup more milk, used 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, and 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown. Instead of so much baking powder we used 1 1/2 tsp powder and 1 1/2 soda. To lessen the "baking powder" taste. The are moist, light and full of flavor! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKERS68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Absolutely delicious! I used half white, half whole wheat flour, and these muffins were wonderful. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Super yummy! I took the advice of pervious posters and doubled the milk and cinnamon, and added a little extra nutmeg. I also used a little more walnuts than called for, and added a handful of raisins. I used naturally sour raw milk rather than milk and vinegar, and also used a stick of softened butter rather than shortening. So good! I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I can't believe how light and fluffy these muffins are. I was a bit heavy handed with the cinnamon and nutmeg, and thought the flavor was tasty. I was out of walnuts and used almonds and those worked well. I think next time I make them I will probably substitute some apple sauce for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
These were very tasty! Light, fluffy, and moist. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States