Super Duper Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Definitely a great blend of flavors and great texture, but, like others said, a bit bland. I tripled the recipe for my family of five and added 1 1/2 teaspoons salt and about a teaspoon of Stevita brand stevia. In the end, it was probably 1/4 teaspoon too much of both the salt and the Stevita. I will most certainly make it again, but add butter for a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
My husband and I enjoy this on a regular basis. The only thing I change is the following: 1/4 C water and 1/2 C milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
YUM!!! I followed the recipe exactly, but also added fresh cherries. Delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
We didn't like the texture of this oatmeal. It was extremely mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
For this recipe, I use Irish Oats in a rice cooker that has programing for porridge. I add all the ingredients at night, and in the morning everything is ready. I add a pat of butter, or Smart Balance, to give it the salt taste it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Good oatmeal, not great but I'm really trying to make healthier breakfasts on the weekends. I did, however, have to add more sugar (and a touch of salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I am rating this a little lower than it may deserve as this was my first attempt at eating oatmeal. I didnt use any sugar as I am on a 2 month detox, but I did add extra applesauce and vanilla. It had taste although was still a little bland to me. Might just be because it was my first time. I am gonna keep trying it to see if as my taste buds change it will get better over time. thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
A good starting point for inspiration but I feel the recipe needs some modifications. For me, the finished product was too runny -- next time I would probably decrease the milk and water by 1/4 cup each. As other reviewers suggested, I added some vanilla (1/2 tsp) and an additional teaspoon of sugar to sweeten it to my tastes. Using a bit of fat-free half and half in place of some of the milk adds richness without extra fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I'm used to more slushy oatmeal, and sweeter too. It was a bit bland, and too thick. Also, next time I'll put 1 teaspoon cinnamon instead of 2. But I'm sure its pretty healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Roxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This recipe was actually pretty good, but I did find the problem that some others were complaining about (the blandness): salt. You need a little salt to bring out the flavors. I also used only 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States