Super Duper Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
For my single serving, I cooked the milk, water, and oats in the microwave for 1-1/2 minutes, added the remaining ingredients (except sugar) and zapped for another half minute. A most excellent breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I used strawberries instead of blueberries, it was slightly bland, so I added a bit of Spelnda & honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flahardy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I used skim milk, substituted ground flax seed in place of the wheat germ, and cooked it in the microwave. It was an enjoyable meal except for too much cinnamon for my taste (and I really like cinnamon). Next time, I will cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Tasty oatmeal. I cut this recipe in 1/2, except I did use 1/2 cup oats. I only added a tiny bit of applesauce because I didn't want it to have a strong apple flavor and it didn't need any more moisture added. Happy that I tried this one, but I have had better oatmeal recipes, so I don't know that this one will be a re-do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This recipe was good, but seemed too liquidy to me. When I make it again, I will definitely decrease the amount of milk used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was quite good. I used my own homemade organic applesauce and freeze-dried blueberries that I cooked in with the oatmeal. I did cut back on the cinnamon by half again only because I didn't want the cinnamon to overpower everything else. I made a half batch--just enough for me. Filling and just right for a cold morning that's revving up to be a long day. Next time, I'll double the blueberries or use double the amount of another berry, as it would be good with pretty much any fruit, I think. A quarter cup wasn't enough for me. NOTE: I did make this in the microwave. I just mixed everything together and nuked it on high for about four minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I've made this with blueberries, strawberries, and the two combined... it's super tasty, I imagine it would apply to almost any fruit. I use frozen fruits for convenience and it loses nothing in doing that. My mom, who used to gag on oatmeal, can eat this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I was looking for something to warm me up, and found this recipe. I used old fashioned oats, unsweetened applesauce and frozen blueberries. The blueberries turned the oatmeal purple when added with them all the other ingredients. I bet they can be added towards the end to avoid the color change. I give this 4 stars because the result does seem like it is missing something. I added brown sugar and loved it! Next time I think I'll add a dash of real maple syrup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I really liked this. I did it different though. I already had oatmeal in the freezer so I unthawed that and added a touch of milk and also used blackberries instead on top with a sprinkle of walnuts and cinnamon. I didn't use sugar because it was sweet enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
a good oatmeal but not fantastic. I found the finished product too runny and a little bland even after adding some vanilla. The ingredients are fantastic and I like not adding any salt but I'm on the lookout for the elusive ingredient that will make this oatmeal great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States