Super Duper Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Very good oatmeal Cassandra. Since it wasn't specified exactly what kind of oats to use, I used Old Fashioned Oats. I didn't have any applesauce, so I mashed up 1/2 a banana and used crushed flax seeds in place of the wheat germ. I also used frozen blueberries since that's all I had. I too am trying to incorporate enough fiber into my diet and this oatmeal was definitely a great start to my day. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
So yummy! I used a frozen berry mix(blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries) the first time I made this, the second I threw in strawberries and bananas. A little vanilla helps the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This recipe was actually pretty good, but I did find the problem that some others were complaining about (the blandness): salt. You need a little salt to bring out the flavors. I also used only 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I love this. Sometimes I add flax and I usually slice banana over the top after it's in the bowl to add more texture, nutrition, and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
This was a great change from the usual oatmeal. I used strawberries instead of blueberries. This would be great with any fruit and a very healthy way to start the day. Thanks Cassandra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Good oatmeal, not great but I'm really trying to make healthier breakfasts on the weekends. I did, however, have to add more sugar (and a touch of salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
For this recipe, I use Irish Oats in a rice cooker that has programing for porridge. I add all the ingredients at night, and in the morning everything is ready. I add a pat of butter, or Smart Balance, to give it the salt taste it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I am rating this a little lower than it may deserve as this was my first attempt at eating oatmeal. I didnt use any sugar as I am on a 2 month detox, but I did add extra applesauce and vanilla. It had taste although was still a little bland to me. Might just be because it was my first time. I am gonna keep trying it to see if as my taste buds change it will get better over time. thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
A good starting point for inspiration but I feel the recipe needs some modifications. For me, the finished product was too runny -- next time I would probably decrease the milk and water by 1/4 cup each. As other reviewers suggested, I added some vanilla (1/2 tsp) and an additional teaspoon of sugar to sweeten it to my tastes. Using a bit of fat-free half and half in place of some of the milk adds richness without extra fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This was quite good. I used my own homemade organic applesauce and freeze-dried blueberries that I cooked in with the oatmeal. I did cut back on the cinnamon by half again only because I didn't want the cinnamon to overpower everything else. I made a half batch--just enough for me. Filling and just right for a cold morning that's revving up to be a long day. Next time, I'll double the blueberries or use double the amount of another berry, as it would be good with pretty much any fruit, I think. A quarter cup wasn't enough for me. NOTE: I did make this in the microwave. I just mixed everything together and nuked it on high for about four minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States