Super Duper Easy Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Duncan Hines recently came out with a caramel cake mix. I used it with this and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelwoy
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This tasted like a yellow cake with some apple pieces. I will make it again but try it in a different pan. I'm sure it was my own cooking of it and not the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was very good for a boxed cake mix. I felt like I was cheating! Based of reviews I added more cinnamon and replaced some of the oil with applesauce. It was delicious. I made mini muffins and various loaf pan sizes for a bake sale and all of them sold. I cut one up for sampling and got great reviews. it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Wonderful cake! Followed recipe exactly, except for adding some grains of freshly grated nutmeg along with the cinnamon. I used a tube pan that has a wide hole in the center, about 3 or 4 inches, so the cake is a big "donut" shape. So moist! A nice maple glaze is perfect. ****MAPLE GLAZE******** 1/4 C. (1/2 stick) unsalted butter; 2 T. pure maple syrup; 2 T. whipping cream; 6 T. powdered sugar, sifted; 12 walnut halves. Melt butter with maple syrup and cream in heavy small saucepan. Remove from heat. Add powdered sugar and whisk until smooth. Cool glaze until slightly thickened, about 15 minutes. Drizzle glaze over cake. Arrange walnut halves decoratively on top of cake. Let cake stand until glaze sets, about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I used an extra 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon. And I used canned apples for pie. I didn't drain them, I just chopped them fine. I made muffins with this recipe. The kids went nuts over them. I am wondering what did Cindy put on top of her cake? You can see something in the photo, but it's not in the recipe. I found a wonderful pecan glaze. It turned out great, we will be making this at thanks giving and christmas. Also if you have leftover apple cake, after about 3 days you should refrigerate, you can reheat in microwave, about 10 seconds for muffins. I had enough batter to make 30 full size muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This recipe is great! My family and friends love this when I have made it. People don't even believe it starts as a box cake. I have made some changes to the recipe. I use cinnamon applesauce instead of oil. I also use equal parts water and apple juice. I add more apple to the recipe as well. It comes out so moist and juicy. I then use the Caramel frosting I recipe on this site. It is the perfect compliment to the apples. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I was rather disappointed with this recipe. With the high rating it got and others' rave reviews, I expected much more. I made a few adjustments as mentioned in other reviews such as increasing the cinnamon by 1+ teaspoons and adding 1/4 tsp nutmeg, as well as adding 1/4 cup applesauce to replace some of the oil, but the flavor is still surprisingly BLAND! Sure, it is "super duper" moist, but to me the flavor in this is almost non-existent. Would definitely not make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA-ANN
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
love it love it thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was very easy to make, not too sweet and moist. The hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Delicious! I used 3 macintosh apples because they were in season locally. I glazed the top with a basic vanilla glaze which made it pretty to bring to work but was not necessary. Cake is plenty sweet and moist. My house smelled amazing & my kids said the cake "tasted like Thanksgiving." Will definitely make this again. Thank you Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States