Super Duper Easy Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This was ok. Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I just made this . very good & easy . You could easily pass this off as home made. I was out of oil so I subst. an individual cinnamon applesauce like was suggested by many. This made the cake really moist. I also sprayed the bundt pan & dusted with sugar instead of flour. This makes it sweet enough..no glaze/ frosting needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for thanksgiving. I made a simple homemade yellow cake from scratch and followed all the rest of the directions. no temp on the recipe so I baked on 350 degrees in a bundt pan, no 10 inch tube pan. Took forever to bake and then it fell when I took it out of the oven. I will have to say that the cake itself was very good and moist. am going to try this cake again in a different pan. directions could of been better on what temp to use instead of bake in the preheated oven. Do you use the temp on the cake mix box or in my case the homemade cake mix? actually I would of gave it less stars if it hadn't tasted so good just because of the flustration of trying to figure out how long it had to bake at a guessed temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
We didnt care for this. : /
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Duncan Hines recently came out with a caramel cake mix. I used it with this and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelwoy
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This tasted like a yellow cake with some apple pieces. I will make it again but try it in a different pan. I'm sure it was my own cooking of it and not the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was very good for a boxed cake mix. I felt like I was cheating! Based of reviews I added more cinnamon and replaced some of the oil with applesauce. It was delicious. I made mini muffins and various loaf pan sizes for a bake sale and all of them sold. I cut one up for sampling and got great reviews. it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Wonderful cake! Followed recipe exactly, except for adding some grains of freshly grated nutmeg along with the cinnamon. I used a tube pan that has a wide hole in the center, about 3 or 4 inches, so the cake is a big "donut" shape. So moist! A nice maple glaze is perfect. ****MAPLE GLAZE******** 1/4 C. (1/2 stick) unsalted butter; 2 T. pure maple syrup; 2 T. whipping cream; 6 T. powdered sugar, sifted; 12 walnut halves. Melt butter with maple syrup and cream in heavy small saucepan. Remove from heat. Add powdered sugar and whisk until smooth. Cool glaze until slightly thickened, about 15 minutes. Drizzle glaze over cake. Arrange walnut halves decoratively on top of cake. Let cake stand until glaze sets, about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I used an extra 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon. And I used canned apples for pie. I didn't drain them, I just chopped them fine. I made muffins with this recipe. The kids went nuts over them. I am wondering what did Cindy put on top of her cake? You can see something in the photo, but it's not in the recipe. I found a wonderful pecan glaze. It turned out great, we will be making this at thanks giving and christmas. Also if you have leftover apple cake, after about 3 days you should refrigerate, you can reheat in microwave, about 10 seconds for muffins. I had enough batter to make 30 full size muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This recipe is great! My family and friends love this when I have made it. People don't even believe it starts as a box cake. I have made some changes to the recipe. I use cinnamon applesauce instead of oil. I also use equal parts water and apple juice. I add more apple to the recipe as well. It comes out so moist and juicy. I then use the Caramel frosting I recipe on this site. It is the perfect compliment to the apples. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States