Super Duper Easy Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I actually replace some of the oil/butter called for in the cake mix recipe with applesauce--intensifies the flavor and makes this cake so moist, it melts in your mouth! :) I've also used more than 2 apples without a problem...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
DELICIOUS! A boxed cake mix that doesn't taste like a "boxed cake mix"! I did add additional cinnamon and at least 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. Didn't have a tube pan, plus my cake mix didn't have directions on the box for one either. I used a bundt pan, baked at 375 for 30 mins. let cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan. A small amount of cake stuck in the pan (this may be because I was out of shortening so I had to use pam to coat). Very Moist and Very Flavorful. Topped with Butterscotch Sauce II recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was way too easy to be this good! Instead of using oil in the cake mix I used cinnamon applesauce. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. We topped ours with cool whip. I will definitely be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
The result was delicious. Some comments: Mix box does not have a size 10 tube pan as one of the sizes to use. The bundt pan is probably the smallest you can use. Batter is voluminous and wouldn't fit into a 10 tube. I used a 13x9 and it worked fine; not as pretty. Cinnamon taste was not strong, might add a bit more the next time. I was also thinking of adding apple pie spice instead of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I didn't try this so I have to rely on hub's review. He found this nice and appley, like a fresh apple pie, with a pleasant balance of cinnamon and sweetness. There was something off putting about it though, he said, and my guess is that he found that the boxed cake mix taste shined through. He said that while it was good, it was not stellar, just average. His favorite part was the butterscotch chips/toasted chopped pecan topping and the caramel glaze I topped it with. (For the caramel glaze I melted some caramel ice cream topping with butter, then added powdered sugar until desired consistency. A perfectly acceptable, but only average, cake. Following day update: First, I forgot to mention that I substituted apple juice for the water called for in the recipe. Second, hubs brought the cake to work this morning and it was gone just a few hours later. And a co-worker personally took the time to email me that the cake was...."heaven." I guess I need to change my rating from 3 stars to 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This was a very good and easy cake to make. I like when the ingredients are usually already on hand and few. Thanx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
WOW!! SO EASY, SO GOOD!! I DON'T KNOW WHY THERE AREN'T FIVE STARS ON THIS. I GAVE IT FIVE. THIS IS REALLY EASY & VERY DELICIOUS. WE PUT SOME COOL WHIP ON IT & YUM. THANKS CINDY. ANNE B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Markle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I tried this twice - once as it's written and once with ground cardamom instead of cinnamonand with a butter recipe mix - yummy both times. I love cooking, but since baking isn't my thing, all recipes that start with a mix are terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sand Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
The name is right. It is easy. I used a homemade cake mix but added the additional ingredients for an apple twist. Loved it. I might even add a little nutmeg, or other spices and a butter mix to give it an apple pie feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was a breeze to make, especially with this summer heat. Very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States