Super Duper Easy Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Good recipe. Don't use a cake mix that uses butter instead of oil--didn't taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is just as the recipe says... super duper easy AND super duper YUMMY! I have made it with both name brand cake mix and a generic cake mix. I would suggest only using the name brand mix. We served it with a scoop of Cool Whip. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Quick and easy, always and big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
The name says it all! I actually used my own Yellow Cake recipe. People can not believe this wasn't from a box! I also added a Cinnamon Glaze drizzled over the top - Yummo! Excellant cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Need Gluten Free? I made this using arrowhead Mills gluten free vanilla cake mix. Added extra apples, cinnamon and about a cup of gluten free rolled oats. It was delicious and easy! Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very good cake! Next time I will add more spices to give a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I didn't try this so I have to rely on hub's review. He found this nice and appley, like a fresh apple pie, with a pleasant balance of cinnamon and sweetness. There was something off putting about it though, he said, and my guess is that he found that the boxed cake mix taste shined through. He said that while it was good, it was not stellar, just average. His favorite part was the butterscotch chips/toasted chopped pecan topping and the caramel glaze I topped it with. (For the caramel glaze I melted some caramel ice cream topping with butter, then added powdered sugar until desired consistency. A perfectly acceptable, but only average, cake. Following day update: First, I forgot to mention that I substituted apple juice for the water called for in the recipe. Second, hubs brought the cake to work this morning and it was gone just a few hours later. And a co-worker personally took the time to email me that the cake was...."heaven." I guess I need to change my rating from 3 stars to 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very easy, extra moist cake. The cinnamon changes the appearance of the cake enough that it doesn't look like a box cake. I took this to work and everybody loved it. Can't believe it is so easy! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is wonderful. My family and friends loved it. It is a little crumbly but it's great just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
The result was delicious. Some comments: Mix box does not have a size 10 tube pan as one of the sizes to use. The bundt pan is probably the smallest you can use. Batter is voluminous and wouldn't fit into a 10 tube. I used a 13x9 and it worked fine; not as pretty. Cinnamon taste was not strong, might add a bit more the next time. I was also thinking of adding apple pie spice instead of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States