Super Duper Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
These are delicious, attractive, chewy cookies that are a hit with everyone in my family and office. I used a 1" serving scoop to make it easier to create uniform balls of dough. Well chilled dough is key. I used a silpat baking mat and found that to be very helpful. We love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Keeper enough said! It is just a very, very good recipe. I did keep the dough over night in the fridge and finished them in a little over an hour! I used semi-sweet chocolate that was the only one I had at hand at the moment and reduced the 2 cups of sugar to 1 1/2 cups and still was not too sweet. Next time if using semi-sweet chocolate I think I can still just use 1 cup of sugar and it will be still perfect as the little powdered sugar will compensate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
holy on a cracker these cookies are delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfectly. Next time I will leave them in for a little less time(oven runs hot) Will definitely be making these again and again! Tip- I noticed some reviewers saying they would leave the cookies on the baking sheet to cool. When my husband was helping me take them off the sheet we found the longer they stayed on the stickier they got (that was after heavily greasing them with cooking spray)so I would recommend getting them off the moment they come out the oven then letting them cool on a cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was delicious!!! I recommend rolling the dough in the powdered sugar twice, or else it isn't enough. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Loved it since I was a kid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I read the reviews and substituted the shortening for butter and baked them for 7 minutes instead of 10, but they came out a bit too chewy - but they were completely edible that way~! Next time I'll bake them for 10 minutes. Really a GREAT cookie. I will be making them again this week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Made some like these years ago but had lost the recipe. My mom used to love them. This is it! I use half butter half margarine in place of the shortening, as I never seem to have shortening on hand, and they came out great. I also used cocoa and the addition of more margarine as I didn't have enough unsweetened chocolate. Good to know I can substitute. I made the first batch using only a rounded teaspoon, and then got lazy and made them a little bigger. I far prefer the smaller ones so next time I'll be more patient. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I love these cookies, but I have modified the recipe slightly. 1/4 tsp salt 4 oz unsweetened chocolate 1 tsp vanilla 6-8 oz semi-sweet ghirardelli chocolate chips Remove nuts Melt unsweetened chocolate and shortening in Microwave. Beat in sugar. Beat in eggs 1 at a time. Mix in vanilla. In a bowl, sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Pour in the egg mixture until smooth. Fold chocolate chips into dough. Chill dough in the refrigerator 3 hours or overnight. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lay parchment paper on cookie sheets. Place confectioners' sugar in a bowl. Roll dough into 1 inch balls. Roll 1 inch dough balls in confectioners' sugar to coat. Arrange 3 inches apart on the prepared cookie sheets. Bake 10 minutes in the preheated oven. Pick up parchment paper and transfer cookies from cookie sheet to wire rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I'm not sure what I did wrong but these did not turn out the way I thought they should. Although they puffed up in the oven, they turned flat as soon as I took them out. I was expecting a more soft and chewy type cookie. I put the dough in the fridge over night. I had to adjust the time for each batch since they were either too hard (and flat) or too soft (and flat) to put on the wire racks. Any tips would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Growing up we called these Chocolate Crinkles. I had an Aunt that made them for family gatherings. I am so happy I found this recipe. These are absolutely fabulous and taste just like I remember. Some of the reviews said that these were dry, they won't be if you do not overcook them. Do not overcook these cookies, they should be lightly crisp around the edges and soft and gooey inside. I timed them at exactly 7 minutes in my convection oven, then let them set for 2 minutes on the cookie sheet before removing. I did not change a thing in the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States