Super Duper Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
These were absolutely fantastic. I often substitute butter for shortening, but I didn't for this recipe, and I am very glad. I found them best after they had fully cooled. After about a day, the outside was crunchy and the inside was like a chewy brownie. The marbling of powdered sugar as the cookie expanded got lots of good reviews from my cookie eaters. These are also fun to make with kids, as rolling the dough balls leaves a chocolate film on the hands -- slightly messy, but enjoyable! This one is a keeper, but... follow the recipe! (you *must* chill the dough!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This recipe is pretty tweakable. I used cocoa instead of chocolate and oil instead of shortening, and it was still great. Im glad I ran across this. Definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have been making these cookies since I was a child! We call them Chocolate Crinkles. Couldn't find my recipe (until after I found this one) and it's almost exactly the same. We substitute 1/2 C cocoa plus 4 Tblspn shortening for the chocolate squares, and we don't add the baking powder. I tried that in there, and made no difference to the cookies. Baking on Parchment is a MUST - so much easier! OMG try Dark Cocoa instead and WOW yummy dark chocolate cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
WONDERFUL! Made these for a party and they were the first to go (and there were lots of other cookies there!) I followed exact but added a bit more flour because some people mentioned they spread, mine did not at all! The key to this recipe is to make sure your dough is COLD when rolling (chill at least 3 hours) and do not OVERCOOK. I only baked mine for 12 mins (and my cookies were big - I only got 3 doz out of this recipe) then allow to cool on the cookie sheet for 5-10 mins then remove to cooling rack until completely set. They may not look completely done when you take them out but if you overbake these they will be so dry and awful. And my kids had a ball rolling in the powdered sugar...so this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I've been making a similar cookie for years, which I got off of a box of margarine. The only difference is that I use melted margarine instead of shortening and I omit the nuts. They are easy and fun to make and deliciously chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Delicious cookie and very attractive. I used butter instead of shortening as I avoid transfat. They spread quite a bit when you use butter and you MUST use either a silpat mat or parchment paper or you lose 10% of the cookie when you take it off the baking tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
These cookies were awesome. They were not dry. I will make these again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
WAY TOO DRY, texture was like sawdust, and not much flavor. Husband was not pleased. I was ashamed of these cookies and I consider myself a reasonably good baker. Will never make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Growing up we called these Chocolate Crinkles. I had an Aunt that made them for family gatherings. I am so happy I found this recipe. These are absolutely fabulous and taste just like I remember. Some of the reviews said that these were dry, they won't be if you do not overcook them. Do not overcook these cookies, they should be lightly crisp around the edges and soft and gooey inside. I timed them at exactly 7 minutes in my convection oven, then let them set for 2 minutes on the cookie sheet before removing. I did not change a thing in the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I make these every Christmas. My family loves them. A couple of tips: - bake on parchment paper - watch very carefully toward the end of baking. If they're even slightly overbaked they will be dry. And finally... press a Hershey's kiss into the center of still warm cookies. Delicious! The only drawback is that it's a time consuming process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States