Super Duper Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
We usually don't follow recipes exactly, we substitute with egg whites, applesauce, margarine, etc, but this time we decided to follow this recipe exactly. The cookies came out great, but they didn't taste as good as I would have liked for how many calories they have. They tasted like they were a lower fat/calorie version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I know many people loved these cookies, so remember that this is just my own personal opinion. I followed the recipe exactly as written and did not leave out any ingredients. These cookies looked fabulous and were most definitely moist, but I thought they lacked flavor and were a little bland. If you are looking for a rich, chocolately cookie, this is not it. If you want a mild chocolate flavor, this just might be the cookie for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Uncle Sam's Family

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
These were delightful! I needed to have left them in the fridge longer but I had a time constraint. They still tasted great; they were just stickier and more difficult to roll. Also, I substituted toffee bits for the chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
WOW! I made these the first time with cocoa powder. Everyone loved them but not as much as when I used half vanilla, half mint extract with white chocolate chips! They were so delicious! I am going to try with raspberry extract next! Thanks!!! These will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Anthony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
If these cookies didn't work for you the first time, get a good brand of chocolate and use BUTTER. I made these EXACTLY as the recipe says the first time through. Yuck. They stayed in ball form (I finally smashed them down with the bottom of a glass) and they were so dry. Second time making them I used half the recipe, but with a 1/2 cup butter, and melted that with 6 tbls of Ghirardelli cocoa powder (instead of squares). This made all the difference! Moist, and delicious. Chilling them is so important! Overnight if possible. Also, DO GREASE your cookie sheets. The powdered sugar really makes them stick. Promptly placing them on wire racks works best for me when cooling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STILLSWEET43
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
They are super duper! very light and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLSWEET43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by thegiftofstones
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I thought these cookies turned out well, though next time i will bake them for a couple minutes less and maybe add chocolate chips for some added texture/flavor. They look very attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Thank you so much for posting this recipe. This cookie has been a childhood treat for me forever. My kids will be thrilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I didn't enjoy these cookies. All I could taste was sugar. Texture was fine, but flavor wasn't there. Probably would have been better if added some cocoa powder or used half butter half shortening. Sorry, but I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I am very impressed by these cookes. i cooked for exactly 12mins and took out (they look undercooked at that point but are fine once they cool). They are soft, and yummy and great. I was worried they wouldnt have much flavor to them, since when i bake i always taste things as they are being made, and the dough wasnt exactly tasty (and i find i like even pancake batter) so i was half tempted to trash it and go make other cookes. so glad i didnt! I guess its the confectionary sugar that makes them taste so good. they are great. Since it is fall and i wanted to make something cute, i added some orange food colouring to the confectionary sugar (took alot of work) but the orange and brown cookies were worth it all. So good i am making more today. Also LOVE that the number of cookes they suggest it will make is right on the money. i used half the recipe so should have gotten 24 cookies, i got 25 so that was great. Seeing as most recipes say 24 and i get something closer to 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley1987

Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States