Super Duper Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
If you like bean salad then you will LOVE this one! The flavors blend nicely and guests ask for seconds and thirds! I added a little more sugar to bring the sweet/sour more into balance. The longer it marinates in the refrigerator, the better it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
This was a quick salad for lunches and was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2000
A great barbeque side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
i usually don't like bean salad but i followed this recipe exactly and it was great. i did let the marinade cool a bit before pouring it over so the beans wouldn't get mushy. i sliced my vidalia onion into rings so us non onion eaters could easily pick them out but they definately add to the marinade flavor. i love the peppers in this! it adds a nice crunch. i used 1/2 teaspoon salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecheese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia Fields, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
The whole family loved this one. It has a great flavor, that is even better the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOWNJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This is so easy to make, and so tasty! I add an extra can of wax beans and an extra can of green beans, and leave out the lima beans. Black beans are also good in this salad. I also add a can of sliced carrots for color. It's a wonderful dish for picnics, get-togethers or barbeques.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
we add cooked pasta---so great it is hard to wait the 2 hours for marination time--this recipe is at the top of our favorites list
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Liked it a lot. Made a couple of changes: beans: 1 (13oz) can black beans, 1 can garbanzo beans, 1 can "6 Bean Blend" (39oz altogether) plus I used a little more of the dried herbs. Went Fantastic. 2nd batch I figured I'd use fresh herbs--disaster. I chopped them way too coarse and got 'wood' in my salad. I thought about trying to save it by draining the bean mixture and straining the dressing to return to salad, but never got around to it. Will use dried for sure and maybe a little more sweet onion for zip. A keeper! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Easy, tasty and I've gotten several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Ford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This salad is awesome. So many possibilites for it. I have made it 3 times and it always tastes super no matter what kind of beans I use. It looks like a lot of ingredients but really isn't once all together. 5 cans of beans will yield a very large salad. I like to use red onion for extra color. I like the addition of dill for a unique flavor. This is a good inexpensive dish to bring to a potluck. Once you have some, you'll be hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States