Super Duper Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is EXCELLENT! Don't make any changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Very Good as written. No changes required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was great. I love bean salads.. Although I don't like lima beans so I always leave them out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Great recipe. This is exactly what bean salad is supposed to be!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This salad is awesome. So many possibilites for it. I have made it 3 times and it always tastes super no matter what kind of beans I use. It looks like a lot of ingredients but really isn't once all together. 5 cans of beans will yield a very large salad. I like to use red onion for extra color. I like the addition of dill for a unique flavor. This is a good inexpensive dish to bring to a potluck. Once you have some, you'll be hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
We liked this, but be forewarned: it makes a LOT, and there's not really any way to cut it in half. I was afraid the dressing would be too sweet or oily, but both were fine. I used frozen green and lima beans because I'm not nuts about canned veggies, and substituted navy beans for the wax beans because I'm an idiot who spent far too long in the wrong aisle of the grocery store failing to find the latter. Sigh. Anyway, I don't think the character of the dish was changed by either substitution - if we can get our neighbors to help us eat it, we'll make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
OK ... I made a few changes, some out of necessity. Could not find canned wax beans, which led me to substitute frozen (steamed lightly) green beans and limas (never could find wax beans...). Added (canned) black beans. Omitted the peppers. Cut down on the sugar (by about a third). I found I had no white vinegar, so substituted white-wine vinegar. I kept the herbs essentially as directed, but wonder how fresh herbs might have changed/improved the final product..... This recipe is very forgiving. I am enjoying having it for luch at work all this week. Thanks, Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Delicious! I made it just as it is listed and added about a teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe is very versatile. I don't care for wax beans so I leave them out. I sometimes add white kidney beans, dark red kidney beans and green peas. I always add a can of shoepeg corn. Sometimes, if I have it, I throw in a spoonful of diced pimento and some green olives. The marinade makes it delicious no matter what you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is good! I used green onion and shallot to use up what I had in the fridge. Didn't use any green beans, just 2 cans garbanzo and 2 cans kidney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States