Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This soup was really delicious. It tastes just like the restaurant. And it took me less than an hour to make. My suggestions are if you use 6 potatos make sure they are the smaller ones. And don't bother cutting the bacon into slices, just cook it and then crumble it (quicker). Very delicious indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Just made a few little changes to this recipe. I used turkey sausage, 7 potatoes, and ready-to-use bacon crumbles, better than bouillon instead of cans of broth, and milk instead of heavy cream. It was absolutely fantastic, better, I dare say, than the soup from the chain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Great recipe! I had to tweak it a little, but that's ok, I always tweak whatever recipe I look at... a full pound of sausage was a bit much for me so I used a half a pound, and make sure you blot all the grease from the sausage or it will float to the top. Instead of spinach I used kale, it's a heartier green and doesn't wilt in the soup, the texture stays firm for a long time. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This soup is amazing! I used hot Italian sausage instead of mild and kale instead of spinach. I used thinly sliced red potatoes and added extra pressed garlic, 2 tablespoons chicken soup base and 2 bouillion cubes instead of canned broth. I also only cooked the potatoes approximately 8 minutes since they were so thinly sliced. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I made this pretty much as described except used evaporated milk. I triple batched it cause my son came home from college and got together with his friends. We had this all week-end. No-one got tired of it. I shared with friends and they said it does taste just like "you know what Italian Chain".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHITIMACHA54
Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Perfect for a chilly winter evening! To lighten the load, I used 2 c. half half, 2 c broth, and the remaining replaced with water. Also used soy sausage and added extra spinach. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Fabulous!! Love the spice and earthiness and depth of flavors. Will make often, especially in the winter. We like spice, so I used 1 Tbsp of red pepper instead of 1 1/4 tsp. It was so good that I won a soup cook-off with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Weston, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Really, really good. I used a few slices of leftover bacon crumbled, shallots instead of onion (personal preference) and thickened some whole milk with cornstarch in place of the cream. Certainly doesn't make it healthy, but it was still rich and creamy. It will be great for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe. The blend of flavors are perfect. Will be making this over and over.....I used pacetta instead of bacon,yummy, didn't think I would like sausage in a soup and the cream......Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Kind of thin, but very good. Similar to the restaurant version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States