Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This soup is a new favorite at my house! It's hearty and delish! I used spicy turkey sausage, milk and cornstarch to make it healthier. Kale instead of spinach. I added Bella mushrooms, julienne carrots for a little color, and cubed potatoes with the skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was very good! I changed it to drop the calories and make it healthier. I used half and half and thickened it with a tiny bit of flour. I also used turkey Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
We absolutely love this soup! The only change I make is using Kale instead of Spinach. It turns wonderful every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Very Simple, EXTREMELY tasty....... I tried Zuppa Toscana on a whim at Olive Garden many moons ago and fell in love with it. It's very flavorful and filling....be careful to drain the fat from the sausage or it will give the heavy cream a redish/pink tinge when done....." molto Bella" I did use KALE and I added it between the Cream and Sausage steps. Kale is not as tender as spinach so I cooked it longer about 5 minutes on medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oscar Greer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This soup was just what I was hoping it would be. A good quality chicken broth (or homemade) is the key ingredient. I used mild Italian turkey sausage because it's leaner than pork and cooked it together with the onion, garlic, and red pepper flakes to bring out the flavors. Substituted kale for spinach and half & half for cream. If making this soup for the first time you may wish to reduce the red pepper flakes - you can always add more at the end if it's not spicy enough. Next time I'll add some carrot strips at the end for a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by rouncer3
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
So yummy!! I used Kale since a friend had made it that way. I would cut back the red pepper since it became too hot! Hoping it will freeze well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
The only changes I make are to use 7 1/2 cups broth and one cup water. I also opt for fat-free half and half instead of the heavy cream just to make slightly healthier. This is one of my favorite thing to make in the dutch oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
My friend just made this last night it was excellent just follow the directions you can't go wrong. Even my picky eater had two bowls of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deontay Brannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
My whole family loved this soup! Easy and delish!!! Just like you are at Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I've been making this for years, but I never constructed it like this before.. better then the way I used to do it. I omitted the bacon and used kale instead of the spinach. I was out of crushed red pepper so I used a sprinkle of cayane pepper and a sprinkle of white pepper. I also used hot Italian sausage. I like it spicy. For those of you with a poor review.. I beg you to make the changes you need to make this work for you and try it again...So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States