Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This soup was just what I was hoping it would be. A good quality chicken broth (or homemade) is the key ingredient. I used mild Italian turkey sausage because it's leaner than pork and cooked it together with the onion, garlic, and red pepper flakes to bring out the flavors. Substituted kale for spinach and half & half for cream. If making this soup for the first time you may wish to reduce the red pepper flakes - you can always add more at the end if it's not spicy enough. Next time I'll add some carrot strips at the end for a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by rouncer3
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
So yummy!! I used Kale since a friend had made it that way. I would cut back the red pepper since it became too hot! Hoping it will freeze well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
The only changes I make are to use 7 1/2 cups broth and one cup water. I also opt for fat-free half and half instead of the heavy cream just to make slightly healthier. This is one of my favorite thing to make in the dutch oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
My friend just made this last night it was excellent just follow the directions you can't go wrong. Even my picky eater had two bowls of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deontay Brannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
My whole family loved this soup! Easy and delish!!! Just like you are at Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I've been making this for years, but I never constructed it like this before.. better then the way I used to do it. I omitted the bacon and used kale instead of the spinach. I was out of crushed red pepper so I used a sprinkle of cayane pepper and a sprinkle of white pepper. I also used hot Italian sausage. I like it spicy. For those of you with a poor review.. I beg you to make the changes you need to make this work for you and try it again...So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Thanks for the recipe! I followed as written except for replacing the cream with half and half. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jak rico
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Followed recipe except for heavy cream used milk. Next time will follow review about rinsing sausage in hot water, otherwise turns soup orange. Great taste, simple & fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Fried mushrooms in bacon fat, added them to sausage off heat. Added fennel and Italian herbs to the recipe. Versatile and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This was DELICIOUS!!! I didn't change anything at all. Thank you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jiff Burnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States