Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Tinergirl
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Delicious! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
We've just moved into a new house so I needed to double it so I wouldn't have to cook again for a few days. I also hadn't gone to the store so I had to improvise: 1 lb hot Italian pork sausage and 1 lb sweet Italian chicken sausage - so no red pepper. I did add a little fennel, crushed. I also had no heavy cream so I used 2% milk and used baby kale. I'm having some more now, 4 days later so I had to review. It is wonderful! I honestly don't know how it could be any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I used half and half instead of cream and I used kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The potato quantity is too much. I reduced it to half and the consistency was OK. It was very spicy. Next time I won't use the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Yep, that's Zuppa!!!!! A bowlful of deliciousness!!! I used hot Italian sausage, left out the hot pepper flakes, 3 big potatoes sliced in various thickness's, leftover bacon from breakfast, kale, and whole milk oh and no garlic (not a fan) everything else was the same. It turned out great, thick but still just enough broth. I would write more but I'm going back for seconds!!! Thank you Souporsweets!!! - nutcrackernut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I substituted chopped fresh kale for the spinach and added it with the potatoes. Put about 4 packed cups in but think I'll up it to 6 next time. Cut the potatoes 1/8" thick with my mandolin. Very good and the red pepper gave it a nice kick. Midwestern husband loved it- and he's not a fan of Italian sausage. I also removed 2 quarts for freezing after adding the sausage but before the cream. Cream soups don't freeze well. So with the cup of cream mine was a little richer than the recipe called for. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I only found one thing wrong with this recipe. It's really hard to stop eating it!! Simple to make, doesn't cost much, but really good. Thanks: JC16
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Great recipe. I followed it as given but used half and half instead of cream. Next time I will cut down on the red pepper flakes as it was a little too spicey for my taste. Shari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is one fantastic soup! I just had my second bowl. I wouldn't change a thing with regard to the ingredients used. However, the recipe was vague about the size of the potatoes, whether they should be peeled or not and how big of a bunch of spinach to use. I used about 5 ounces of spinach, and 9 smallish Idaho red potatoes. Next time, I'll peel the potatoes to avoid having strips of peel and will trim away all of the spinach stems. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
All I can say is 'Yummo!'. Wow, was this good! Like some others I used Kale instead of spinach but only because I already had Kale on hand. Also the sausage I used had cheese in it, that too was already on hand. I'm a big baby when it comes to spicy (red pepper flakes) but I still added as directed. I was still able to eat this happily but next time I will either omit or put a little less of the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States