Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kris
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I can't get enough of this soup! I tweaked it by leaving out the bacon and using kale instead of spinach (the famous restaurant uses kale). I also added 1 teaspoon of fennel as I think that it is crucial to the flavor of the soup. My Italian sausage was hot enough without the added red pepper, also. Still, I think this recipe is pretty forgiving and you can add or subtract to your taste. This was just what I was looking for to start me on my way to my new favorite soup. I also loved how quickly everything cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is my favorite soup! Instead of heavy cream I use milk with about 3 tbsp cornstarch. And instead of spinach, I use kale. This soup freezes great, too! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is a great soup. Use Kale in place of the spinach and voila, you have the original recipe! HELPFUL HINTS: To avoid orange soup, rinse your sausage in very HOT water; use 5 potatoes sliced thick and 2 potatoes sliced thin. The variation in the potato size allows the thinly sliced potatoes to cook down and thicken the broth; a mix of hot and mild sausage gives the soup more "zip", and last, use low sodium chicken broth. Serve with hot crusty bread for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is very similar to a recipe that I make. I use hot sausage instead of mild, no hot pepper flakes, only 2-4 russett potatoes (depending on the size)sliced thin and they hold their shape and do not come out mushy and kale. You can substitute cauliflower for the potatoes for a lower carb diet and it is just as delicious. Definately just crumble the bacon instead of cutting into pieces. This is a crowd pleaser and my family loves it when I make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Just made a few little changes to this recipe. I used turkey sausage, 7 potatoes, and ready-to-use bacon crumbles, better than bouillon instead of cans of broth, and milk instead of heavy cream. It was absolutely fantastic, better, I dare say, than the soup from the chain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Great recipe! I had to tweak it a little, but that's ok, I always tweak whatever recipe I look at... a full pound of sausage was a bit much for me so I used a half a pound, and make sure you blot all the grease from the sausage or it will float to the top. Instead of spinach I used kale, it's a heartier green and doesn't wilt in the soup, the texture stays firm for a long time. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
YUM! This was the perfect dinner for a cold night! It does taste a lot like the restaurant's soup! I agree with the suggestions of using fewer potatoes. I used 4 (3 small and 1 bigger) and there was plenty of potato! It soaked up quite a bit of the broth, so the soup was pretty thick. Also, I used kale instead of spinach. Very good! My husband loved it! I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I can't get enough of this soup!!! I use kale instead of spinach (I like it better because it is crunchier). I always peel my potatoes (nobody will ever make me eat potatoes' skin!!). The second time I cooked the bacon in the microwave because I thought there was too much fat the first time. This recipe is just TOO good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Definitely oh-so-good. I followed the recipe exact, only adding a tsp. of crushed fennel as another reviewer recommended. My family was not a fan but I am for sure. I'm really glad I didn't double it because it makes quite a bit for one person. Make sure you invite your besties over to share if you make this. Quite simple and not intimidating like I originally thought it would be. NOTE: If you have kids, you might want to cut back on the red pepper flakes. It's got a bit of a kick, which could be a bit much for little mouths. Also, my potatoes were done at 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
JUST LIKE THE RESTURANT!!! As suggested in other reviews, I used Kale instead of the spinach. I also had to use Johnsonville Italian sausage, and I will definitly use another brand next time. I misread the recipe and diddnt know that I was supposed to have gotten ground sausage, so I had to crumble by hand. I will also try to make a lighter version since this one has so much fat in it. Overall, this recipe was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States