Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kris
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I can't get enough of this soup! I tweaked it by leaving out the bacon and using kale instead of spinach (the famous restaurant uses kale). I also added 1 teaspoon of fennel as I think that it is crucial to the flavor of the soup. My Italian sausage was hot enough without the added red pepper, also. Still, I think this recipe is pretty forgiving and you can add or subtract to your taste. This was just what I was looking for to start me on my way to my new favorite soup. I also loved how quickly everything cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is my favorite soup! Instead of heavy cream I use milk with about 3 tbsp cornstarch. And instead of spinach, I use kale. This soup freezes great, too! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is very similar to a recipe that I make. I use hot sausage instead of mild, no hot pepper flakes, only 2-4 russett potatoes (depending on the size)sliced thin and they hold their shape and do not come out mushy and kale. You can substitute cauliflower for the potatoes for a lower carb diet and it is just as delicious. Definately just crumble the bacon instead of cutting into pieces. This is a crowd pleaser and my family loves it when I make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is a great soup. Use Kale in place of the spinach and voila, you have the original recipe! HELPFUL HINTS: To avoid orange soup, rinse your sausage in very HOT water; use 5 potatoes sliced thick and 2 potatoes sliced thin. The variation in the potato size allows the thinly sliced potatoes to cook down and thicken the broth; a mix of hot and mild sausage gives the soup more "zip", and last, use low sodium chicken broth. Serve with hot crusty bread for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Just made a few little changes to this recipe. I used turkey sausage, 7 potatoes, and ready-to-use bacon crumbles, better than bouillon instead of cans of broth, and milk instead of heavy cream. It was absolutely fantastic, better, I dare say, than the soup from the chain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Great recipe! I had to tweak it a little, but that's ok, I always tweak whatever recipe I look at... a full pound of sausage was a bit much for me so I used a half a pound, and make sure you blot all the grease from the sausage or it will float to the top. Instead of spinach I used kale, it's a heartier green and doesn't wilt in the soup, the texture stays firm for a long time. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
YUM! This was the perfect dinner for a cold night! It does taste a lot like the restaurant's soup! I agree with the suggestions of using fewer potatoes. I used 4 (3 small and 1 bigger) and there was plenty of potato! It soaked up quite a bit of the broth, so the soup was pretty thick. Also, I used kale instead of spinach. Very good! My husband loved it! I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I can't get enough of this soup!!! I use kale instead of spinach (I like it better because it is crunchier). I always peel my potatoes (nobody will ever make me eat potatoes' skin!!). The second time I cooked the bacon in the microwave because I thought there was too much fat the first time. This recipe is just TOO good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Definitely oh-so-good. I followed the recipe exact, only adding a tsp. of crushed fennel as another reviewer recommended. My family was not a fan but I am for sure. I'm really glad I didn't double it because it makes quite a bit for one person. Make sure you invite your besties over to share if you make this. Quite simple and not intimidating like I originally thought it would be. NOTE: If you have kids, you might want to cut back on the red pepper flakes. It's got a bit of a kick, which could be a bit much for little mouths. Also, my potatoes were done at 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This soup was really delicious. It tastes just like the restaurant. And it took me less than an hour to make. My suggestions are if you use 6 potatos make sure they are the smaller ones. And don't bother cutting the bacon into slices, just cook it and then crumble it (quicker). Very delicious indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States