Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I always order the Zuppa Toscana at the popular Italian restaurant. So, I was happy to find this recipe. It tasted better than the restaurant version because I added my own personal touches. Used kale instead of spinach, cooking for 5 min. after adding it...otherwise the kale would be too tough. Added more red pepper flakes, simply because we like things spicy! Didn't have heavy cream so I used 2% milk and added a few tablespoons of butter. Because I only had turkey bacon on hand, and used it, the flavor was lacking. Don't cringe, but to get the bacon flavor, I added a tablespoon of reserved, strained bacon grease I had in the refrigerator. Like my mother and grandmother, I always save strained bacon grease for certain cooking strategies. One last thing, I didn't have "sausage" but I had ground pork...to make up for the lack of spices normally found in sausage, I needed to add spices. So a few shakes of garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, sweet basil, black pepper, and salt were added. I probably could not duplicate the ingredients exactly if I tried, but it made a wonderful Zuppa! I share these ideas to encourage others to make it their own. A soup we truly enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I was hoping this would be as good as it sounded and it was! I left out the bacon since I didn't think it needed it. Everything else I did just as the recipe stated. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tinergirl
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Delicious! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
We've just moved into a new house so I needed to double it so I wouldn't have to cook again for a few days. I also hadn't gone to the store so I had to improvise: 1 lb hot Italian pork sausage and 1 lb sweet Italian chicken sausage - so no red pepper. I did add a little fennel, crushed. I also had no heavy cream so I used 2% milk and used baby kale. I'm having some more now, 4 days later so I had to review. It is wonderful! I honestly don't know how it could be any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I used half and half instead of cream and I used kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The potato quantity is too much. I reduced it to half and the consistency was OK. It was very spicy. Next time I won't use the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Yep, that's Zuppa!!!!! A bowlful of deliciousness!!! I used hot Italian sausage, left out the hot pepper flakes, 3 big potatoes sliced in various thickness's, leftover bacon from breakfast, kale, and whole milk oh and no garlic (not a fan) everything else was the same. It turned out great, thick but still just enough broth. I would write more but I'm going back for seconds!!! Thank you Souporsweets!!! - nutcrackernut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I substituted chopped fresh kale for the spinach and added it with the potatoes. Put about 4 packed cups in but think I'll up it to 6 next time. Cut the potatoes 1/8" thick with my mandolin. Very good and the red pepper gave it a nice kick. Midwestern husband loved it- and he's not a fan of Italian sausage. I also removed 2 quarts for freezing after adding the sausage but before the cream. Cream soups don't freeze well. So with the cup of cream mine was a little richer than the recipe called for. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I only found one thing wrong with this recipe. It's really hard to stop eating it!! Simple to make, doesn't cost much, but really good. Thanks: JC16
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Great recipe. I followed it as given but used half and half instead of cream. Next time I will cut down on the red pepper flakes as it was a little too spicey for my taste. Shari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States