Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I substituted chopped fresh kale for the spinach and added it with the potatoes. Put about 4 packed cups in but think I'll up it to 6 next time. Cut the potatoes 1/8" thick with my mandolin. Very good and the red pepper gave it a nice kick. Midwestern husband loved it- and he's not a fan of Italian sausage. I also removed 2 quarts for freezing after adding the sausage but before the cream. Cream soups don't freeze well. So with the cup of cream mine was a little richer than the recipe called for. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I only found one thing wrong with this recipe. It's really hard to stop eating it!! Simple to make, doesn't cost much, but really good. Thanks: JC16
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Great recipe. I followed it as given but used half and half instead of cream. Next time I will cut down on the red pepper flakes as it was a little too spicey for my taste. Shari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is one fantastic soup! I just had my second bowl. I wouldn't change a thing with regard to the ingredients used. However, the recipe was vague about the size of the potatoes, whether they should be peeled or not and how big of a bunch of spinach to use. I used about 5 ounces of spinach, and 9 smallish Idaho red potatoes. Next time, I'll peel the potatoes to avoid having strips of peel and will trim away all of the spinach stems. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
All I can say is 'Yummo!'. Wow, was this good! Like some others I used Kale instead of spinach but only because I already had Kale on hand. Also the sausage I used had cheese in it, that too was already on hand. I'm a big baby when it comes to spicy (red pepper flakes) but I still added as directed. I was still able to eat this happily but next time I will either omit or put a little less of the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Very good and easy to make! I did not use all six of the potatoes. Next time, it would be interesting to try it with the kale although the spinach was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
It turned out great, and it was very easy to make. I did it without bacon and used regular milk instead of cream which made it a lighter version. Tastes just the one at Olive Garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Amazing. It came out better that I ever could have imagined. The next time I will cut the potatoes into larger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicMonty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
THis soup is outstanding, hearty and oh so good on a cold winter night- a classic Italian peasant soup. After reading a bunch of reviews, I adapted the recipe, many thanks for the tips! I used mild Italian poultry sausage patties, instead of pork, and kale instead of spinach. I chunked my potatoes instead of slicing them. I omitted the milk/heavy cream because I forgot(in the end its excellent without it)! With the potatoes in the soup for thickener. I served it with a side salad, and hearty 9 grain bread. With this Polar Vortex swirling through upstate NY for the third time this winter, this soup is perfect to warm you up and fill your tummy with amazing comfort food!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this for the first time last week easy and awesome taste making it again tonight lol its really good but only made four bowls, I need more i will be cutting down the sausage a bit though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3TEQUILA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tumbler Ridge, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States