Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
After reading reviews, I changed up the recipe. I took the advice of other reviews and added fennel and kale. I diced the potatoes and boiled them in the broth ect. for 35mins. I used my immersion blender to purée the potatoes to make a thick soup. I added the sausage and kale and simmered the soup for an hour. I was happy with the results, a nice thick and hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This is the best soup ever! Today I added a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes and it was delicious. I did not add the crushed peppers, the tomatoes added enough kick to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Turned out really good! I also tweaked the recipe a bit. I browned the italian sausage with the red pepper flakes, then added the chopped onion and minced garlic. Next I removed the sausage and onion mixture and then browned six pieces of bacon in the same skillet that I browned the sausage in. I drained bacon on paper towel and then crumbled. I added crumbled bacon with about 56 oz chicken broth ( I used about 1 and 3/4 of 32 oz chicken broth cartons). Brought to a boil then added 3 large thinly sliced russet potatoes. Took about 15 minutes until potatoes were tender. Then added baby kale instead of spinach. Once kale was wilted, I stirred in sausage mixture and about 1 cup cream. Tasted and added a few pinches of salt, and more crushed red pepper. Soup was tasty but still missing something. Added about 2 tablespoons of butter to soup which added the "rich" flavor that I felt was missing. Tasted perfect. Only missing breadsticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Euphoric Monkey
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Great recipe I added a teaspoon of fennel with it to give it a bit of a kick. Over all it came out wonderful especially for my first time making Zuppa. The whole family loved it. Definitely making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
In my opinion, this soup taste exactly like what's served at Olive Garden; in my boyfriend's opinion, it's better. Either way, great. I used gold potatoes instead of russets, which held their form better. Added 1 tsp each of sweet basil and fennel and used more bacon (maybe 6 or 7 slices), as well as 1 1/2 c of heavy cream. I also used a few extra tsp of chicken bouillon, and still thought it needed salt and pepper, but that was an easy fix to a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyequita Destiny Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
AMAZING! I get high compliments ever time I make this. I follow the recipe exact and turns out perfect every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichellekay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by datachick1213
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is the soup I Order When I go to my local Italian chain restaurant. So delicious! I use kale instead of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Always a dish for major holidays in our house! I will never order a restaurant soup! Inlove with this recipe! I've been making this exact recipe for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Not a recipe that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States