Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This will do the trick...I used only half of the sausage and also kale instead of spinach. As well, only about 1t of red pepper flakes...just my preference...This was a keeper. I will definitely make this for company next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nebo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This soup is nothing short of AMAZING!!!!!! I've made this twice so far and the second time was for a group of about 20 to 25 people. Even the children were coming back for seconds and thirds!! EVERYONE raved about it! I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and rinsed the sausage in really hot water to keep it from being orange and to get rid of some of the grease. I also used kale (a lot of it) since that's what the famous restaurant uses and no one complained, not even my husband and kids who dislike kale. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. I tripled the recipe to feed the group and everyone had plenty and we had some to take home!!! Thank you so much for sharing this reccipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Albany, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Love this soup! I used lactose free whole milk in place of cream and added a touch of corn starch to thicken. The potatoes could do that on their own, but I like them to keep their shape, so I don't overlook. I did add a touch of garlic salt at serving because I used mild sausage and no pepper flakes. (My family won't eat them.). The extra garlic gives it the needed flavor. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brian Head, Utah, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
WOW! This was amazing. I love soup and I figured with 5 stars it had to be great. I read reviews and made the following adjustments, it really was exceptional! Family and guests loved it! Used low-sodium chicken broth (I can see it would have been way too salty if I hadn't) Used hot sausage, left out the pepper flakes. Used kale instead of spinach (added just about 10 minutes before serving). Cooked 1/2 pound of bacon and reserved some for sprinkling on top in bowl. Added some black pepper and thyme to taste. Sliced 2 potatoes very thin, 4 thicker - making all pieces bit sized. Served with shredded cheddar for top of bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Delicious! I made a few changes to make it "low fat". Italian seasoned turkey, turkey bacon and fat free half-n-half. I couldn't believe how good it tasted. How sinful the regular version must taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great recipe, although I did add some of my own tweaks. I used kale like others suggested, less chicken broth, and added some ingredients: fennel seed, balsamic and red wine vinegar (added a lot of needed zip), and pecorino romano. I also steamed the potatoes separately while cooking other ingredients to save time. Very good, I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This recipe was yummy and definitely best on the day it was made. I did not really enjoy it reheated the next day and beyond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe called for and it was delicious. I might add more potatoes and maybe some carrots next time for volume. I think the potatoes I used were too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Good, but needed some help. This makes a LOT of soup, so unless you have a lot of people eating it, I suggest cutting back. I made about a half batch. I don't really measure much, either. I used about a half pound of Jimmy Dean hot sausage, 2 strips of bacon, and half an onion.I follow the recipe except I don't use garlic and I don't add the bacon into the soup. I add whatever broth (homemade) I have on hand and add water to make 4 cups of liquid. It's usually about half and half. I also add the red pepper flakes here as well as garlic powder (since I don't keep real garlic on hand) salt and pepper from a grinder, and whatever else smells good from the spice cabinet (usually cayenne pepper, paprika, stuff like that). As for the potatoes, I use 2 large russets. Leave the skin on, cut them in half and half again lengthwise. I cut them about a quarter inch thick, some thinner to help thicken the broth, and add them in. I bring it all to a boil rather than bringing it to a boil THEN adding the potatoes. I let it simmer down for about 10-15 minutes after they're done to thicken it up. I add half a cup of cream and a good amount of kale, rather than spinach. I've used spinach and it turns to mush on me. After it's reheated to almost a boil, I serve it and crumble the bacon over top of it with some parmesan. Sooo yummy. It usually makes 3-4 servings. Since it's only 2 people that eat it in my house, including me, there are leftovers and they reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I always order the Zuppa Toscana at the popular Italian restaurant. So, I was happy to find this recipe. It tasted better than the restaurant version because I added my own personal touches. Used kale instead of spinach, cooking for 5 min. after adding it...otherwise the kale would be too tough. Added more red pepper flakes, simply because we like things spicy! Didn't have heavy cream so I used 2% milk and added a few tablespoons of butter. Because I only had turkey bacon on hand, and used it, the flavor was lacking. Don't cringe, but to get the bacon flavor, I added a tablespoon of reserved, strained bacon grease I had in the refrigerator. Like my mother and grandmother, I always save strained bacon grease for certain cooking strategies. One last thing, I didn't have "sausage" but I had ground pork...to make up for the lack of spices normally found in sausage, I needed to add spices. So a few shakes of garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, sweet basil, black pepper, and salt were added. I probably could not duplicate the ingredients exactly if I tried, but it made a wonderful Zuppa! I share these ideas to encourage others to make it their own. A soup we truly enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States