Super Delicate Chocolate Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I left out the shortening, makes it like eating grease. I used all butter = buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I used this on top of strawberry cupcakes and this recipe got rave reviews at school. I took the advice of other reviewers and let the sugar/water mixture cool a bit before adding it. I didn't have any rum, so I just doubled the vanilla. The texture is very light, so it would be difficult to do decorating with beyond a cupcake swirl. Also I liked the that this recipe is not supersweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
The taste of this "buttercream" was A+, but everything else gets an F. It was wayyy too soupy to even think about using as a frosting. I ended up having to add almost half a bag of confectioner's sugar to it just to be able to frost my cupcakes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made this with my Kitchen Aid mixer and it was very easy. The texture is soft and fluffy, like mousse. It is not too sweet. I LOVE it. My go to recipe from now on. Will experiment with some other flavorings soon, peppermint, cinnamon, lemon, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good icing with chocolate Cupcakes,followed recipe step by step. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Best tasting buttercream I've ever made! Thank you very much for the recipe. As I used it in a strawberry cake, I put some lemon juice instead of rum and white chocolate instead of the unsweetened and the result was yummy! I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Good frosting, totally different from the basic confectioners' sugar buttercream, smooth, almost mousse-like. But I don't know what I was thinking when I mixed a hot egg yolk/sugar mixture in with, of all things, a shortening/butter mixture. It did exactly what I expected it to - it melted and looked much like cake batter. (Kind of tasted like it too) I can only think my lapse in judgment was because I blindly trusted the recipe. I put the frosting in the fridge and checked it periodically until it was firm enough to work with and it ultimately turned out fine. But if you do make this, by all means, let your yolks and sugar mixture cool down to room temperature before mixing it into the butter and shortening! After all the monkeying around with this, and the fact that it's a little too chocolatey for me, I'm not sure I'll bother with this one again. My three star rating is basically for the instructions which essentially make this fail until you "fix" it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Fantastic! Honestly, you could add a little more chocolate to it to make it a little richer, but really light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. The only thing I left out was the rum because it isn't something that I have on hand. Delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe has got so many requests after I made it....and my husband is gaga over the texture, flavor of this buttercream. It's my go-to chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamadiers

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States