Super Crispy Roasted Goose Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I made this skipping the boiling water step. My goose was not crispy, but that is not the recipe's fault. I baked it 3 hours in total, it was a little dry (compare to what I have had before). I suggest people who try to cook goose for the first time should realize that a goose of same weight of a turkey would give less meat. I mean for my 11 goose, 3 lb was the grease-- I measured it! It is harder to carve than a turkey too. I served 10 people with this goose, and each person barely got 2 piece of meat. It was a good thing that was a pot luck, so there were other meats. I took the left over home and picked out the rest of meat and cooked a soup. The next day my family of 4 had a soup noodle with goose meat -- chinese style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I've never had goose before- but it will definately be a regular dish on my table with this recipe! DEEEELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATTYRO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I threw a dinner party for 12 last night and this recipe was the main entree. I have never made goose before, but this recipe turned out beautifully. It was very involved and time consuming, but the end result was well worth it. In short, this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
It might be that I just like duck better, the breast was flavorless & the only thing that my honey liked was the skin which was crispy. The stuffing and gravy were good but I'll pass on the goose next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I made this for the first time christmas 2005. It was a rather long and complicated process, although the out come was worth it. The only problem I had was that the wings and legs got a touch over cooked because I couldn't get them tucked under properly. Next time I would use kitchen twine to tie it up. We also were disappointed that there was not much meat. It served 3 adults and 4 children with a little left over. I had planned to take some to a dinner party the next afternoon, but I hardly had enough to fill a tupperware. My kids absolutley adored it (they love dark meat and crispy skin and they would really eat much else of their dinner) and have been asking ever since for me to make it again. If you like dark meat you should try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I didn't care for it, but everyone else liked it. I guess I'm just not a dark meat fan. Also, Goose really does not feed a lot of people--BE AWARE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Pretty good, very moist. The stuffing was delicious! Gave a 4 because we think we may prefer duck better, but other then that, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by felicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Great Goose! My first time cooking one and it wasn't too difficult with good results. I would give 5 stars but for the cost of a goose i think I would rather just cook a turkey. Everyone at the party enjoyed the meal though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Made this for our Wedding and it was delicious although it's nothing like carving a Turkey. Stuffed it with some dirty rice and made a lot of side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States