Super Al's Cocktail Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Al, I joined my recipes to specifically write a review of your cocktail sauce. I have tried making a handfull of highly rated cocktail sauce recipes I found all over the net, but I MUST say that I preferred yours the most. It tastes great and is EXTREMELY easy to make! To boot it only has 4 ingredients, which everyone will most likely have on hand. The exception is the fresh horseradish. So, I used about 1.25 - 1.5 teaspoons of prepared white horseradish which suited my tastes just fine. Great job, keep em coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Wow! I will never buy bottled cocktail sauce again! I used creamy horseradish since I didn't have any fresh and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Very nice! I like the horseradish flavor that still give JUST enough bite! I also recommend using Beaver Brand Horseradish. I tried this a second time with HOT horseradish (Beaver Brand) and it was even better! Thanks Super Al!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Simply the best! Like other reviewers, I am the only one who eats cocktail sauce so I was always buying a jar and throwing away most of it. I will forever make this recipe, exactly as written and having the simple ingredients on hand makes it so simple and much cheaper. Thanks Al!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This is indeed the best cocktail sauce recipe! It's the brown sugar that really ties the flavors together. I used chili sauce in place of the ketchup as I like the chunkiness. Thank you so much, for the recipe, Al...and good-bye to store-bought cocktail sauce forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paul, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
i am a wuss when it comes to spicy food, but i checked this after making it according to directions. i doubled the horsey...then tripled it. just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I was browsing recipes for valentines day because i was going to make my boyfriend shrimp cocktail for an appetizer. I thought it would be nice to make the cocktail sauce from scratch... I was wrong. I only added one of the two tablespoons of the horseradish and it overpowered the sauce way too much. I didn't even let him try it, it went right in the garbage. This may be a good recipe for some but not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Very good. Will make this from now on instead of buying it at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
OH MY!!! The flavor hurts so GOOD....this is the best sauce I've ever had. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I will never buy from the store again! Super easy and quick! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States