Super Al's Cocktail Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
Al, I joined my recipes to specifically write a review of your cocktail sauce. I have tried making a handfull of highly rated cocktail sauce recipes I found all over the net, but I MUST say that I preferred yours the most. It tastes great and is EXTREMELY easy to make! To boot it only has 4 ingredients, which everyone will most likely have on hand. The exception is the fresh horseradish. So, I used about 1.25 - 1.5 teaspoons of prepared white horseradish which suited my tastes just fine. Great job, keep em coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Wow! I will never buy bottled cocktail sauce again! I used creamy horseradish since I didn't have any fresh and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Very nice! I like the horseradish flavor that still give JUST enough bite! I also recommend using Beaver Brand Horseradish. I tried this a second time with HOT horseradish (Beaver Brand) and it was even better! Thanks Super Al!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Simply the best! Like other reviewers, I am the only one who eats cocktail sauce so I was always buying a jar and throwing away most of it. I will forever make this recipe, exactly as written and having the simple ingredients on hand makes it so simple and much cheaper. Thanks Al!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This is indeed the best cocktail sauce recipe! It's the brown sugar that really ties the flavors together. I used chili sauce in place of the ketchup as I like the chunkiness. Thank you so much, for the recipe, Al...and good-bye to store-bought cocktail sauce forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paul, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
i am a wuss when it comes to spicy food, but i checked this after making it according to directions. i doubled the horsey...then tripled it. just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I was browsing recipes for valentines day because i was going to make my boyfriend shrimp cocktail for an appetizer. I thought it would be nice to make the cocktail sauce from scratch... I was wrong. I only added one of the two tablespoons of the horseradish and it overpowered the sauce way too much. I didn't even let him try it, it went right in the garbage. This may be a good recipe for some but not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Very good. Will make this from now on instead of buying it at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
OH MY!!! The flavor hurts so GOOD....this is the best sauce I've ever had. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I will never buy from the store again! Super easy and quick! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Chef John's Fresh Raspberry Sauce

Chef John's recipe for fresh raspberry sauce will turn any day into Valentine's D

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States