Sunshine S'more Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very Good, Very Very Sweet! I used yellow cake mix instead of french vanilla, I filled the cupcake tin about 1/4 full of cake batter, added 1tsp graham cracker crumbs, the hershey kiss and then pipped about 1 tsp of mashmellow fluff. I then covered all of this with more cake batter. This worked great because some of the fluff raised to the top of the cake and browned on top, giving it a real smore taste. I didn't add any more fluff to the top, these are really filling and sweet without, although I did top some of them with chocolate cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This made a nice, moist cake. I did alter it, though. I used yellow cake mix and added a tsp. of vanilla and used considerably more graham cracker crumbs inside the cake as well as using 2 whole eggs. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of kisses. I did microwave the marshmallow cream to glaze the cake, and it spread fine, but marshmallow topping always makes a huge mess. All in all, I did really like the flavor of the cake. Maybe there is a recipe for a marshmallow flavored buttercream type icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I made these in my silicone mini muffin pan and baked for 15 minutes. At the end I turned the oven to broil and the marshmallow got a little toasted. Really yummy, except I wish it had more graham flavor in the cupcake. I will make these again, but add more crushed graham crackers to batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troutdale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Loved this recipe ! The only change I made was filled the cupcake about half full, then put the chocolate in with about a tsp of graham cracker crumbs, then filled with more batter. Baked and then iced. Well actually I made these for my daughter's 7th Camp out party and the kids iced and decorated them ! They had a blast and they tasted really good !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jocjen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I made the cupcakes exactly as the recipe stated. I made them for a campout birthday party for my daughter. The kids thought they were neat, but most of the kids didn't eat the icing part and some even left the cupcake. I thought the cupcake was fine. It would probably be awesome straight from the oven with the kiss inside being nice and warm. They were great for the novelty idea of s'mores - but as a cupcake, they weren't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My3Daffodils
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I thought these were Excellent. They really do taste just like s'mores. My hint to putting on the fluff is this. I put my fluff in a disposable decorating bag. I used a star tip and just swirled a dollop on top of the cup cake. Then baked for one minute as the recipe says. I found it worked out great no sticky mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Too much work and results not what I expected...just tasted like vanilla cake with a 'not-so-melted' kiss on the inside :) Although I'll be honest, this recipe with revisions has a LOT of potential...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambina82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These were a huge hit for my daughter's birthday party at home and at school. The kids all loved the idea of eating the s'mores as cupcakes, and I ended up making some with chocolate cake as well, which were terrific! Definiately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These are cupcakes from the box so of course they are good HOWEVER these were nothign like smores at all-hence the 3 stars. Not enough chocolate, cant taste the graham cracker crumbs and the fluff didnt work that well either. This is what i will do next time: Use chocolate mix, add a ton of coarsely chopped graham crackers to the mix, and add mini marshmallows and chocolate chips on top instead of the fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
They were okay, nothing special. They tasted like regular french vanilla cupcakes with chocolate inside. I probably wont make them again since my little brothers didnt even bother trying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States