Sunshine S'more Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2003
HOLY COW, these are the best cupcakes ever! We used chocolate devils food cake mix instead of white and just put what the box called for instead of the water and egg whites. Other than that, we followed the recipe. It wasn't at all messy, they were actually very beautiful! Just put a little spoonful of fluff, don't cover the cupcake completely. We also pushed in the hersey kiss completely. It leaves a nice little surprise on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very Good, Very Very Sweet! I used yellow cake mix instead of french vanilla, I filled the cupcake tin about 1/4 full of cake batter, added 1tsp graham cracker crumbs, the hershey kiss and then pipped about 1 tsp of mashmellow fluff. I then covered all of this with more cake batter. This worked great because some of the fluff raised to the top of the cake and browned on top, giving it a real smore taste. I didn't add any more fluff to the top, these are really filling and sweet without, although I did top some of them with chocolate cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
These were not easy the 1st time around. I couldn't get the fluff to spread, and the graham cracker crumbs would stick to the fluff. Very frustrating! But after the 3rd time around, I finally got it. I like the others used the recipe on the box. Didn't put the crumbs on top. Now the trick! Put the fluff in the microwave for 15 seconds, stir and put in for another 15 seconds. This makes it so much easier to spread! I used less than a tsp. and it worked wonderful. Then I put the crumbs on the top of the fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANLIE0301

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
These are the best cupcakes. I've made them 3 times already and everyone loved them. For the lady who said the marshmallow stuck to the pan, I always took the cupcakes out of the pan before putting the marshmallow on them. It's not necessary to put them back in the oven as the marshmallow will melt overnight anyway. Plus, you don't have to put so much graham cracker crumbs all over. These were hard to make the first time, but after 3 times, it's a lot quicker. They are messy so plan to have plenty of napkins around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I think I read almost all of the reviews before tackling this recipe. I ended up making it 3 different ways because I couldn't make up my mind as to which I would like the best. I made the batter as written with the kiss. After baking, I piped marshmallow cream onto several cupcakes and sprinkled with graham crumbs. Then I placed them under the broiler until slightly toasted. I let the other cupcakes cool and then piped some with more marshmallow cream topped with a piece of graham cracker and mini chocolate chips. And finally, I topped a few with chocolate frosting, marshmallows and a piece of graham. The ones with the toasted marshmallow are by far our favorites. The cupcake part is really good, moist, and we could definitely taste the graham cracker in it. Overall, this was a good recipe, one to use some creativity and play around with a little bit. Update: The day after I made these, the marshmallow cream had completely run off the cupcakes that I cooled and then added the cream. I would definitely broil the marshmallow cream after adding. Those are still pretty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
My daughter and I made these cupcakes and had fun doing it and they taste great!!.. We only changed one thing and that is we used the whole egg instead of just egg whites.. the trick to the marshmellow and graham crackers staying on the top is to NOT fill the muffin tin so much they will be taller than the muffin tin when baked.. we made 32 cupcakes with the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
What a wonderful, yummy change on the old standard cupcake. I made two batches, one chocolate, the other vanilla. The chocolate were good, but the vanilla were wonderful. Instead of using plain graham crackers, I crumbled up a keebler pie crust, and did add more than what the recipe called for, both in the batter and for the topping. I also just followed the directions on the cake mix. Kids and adults gobbled these up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
I made these for my daughters class. They almost didn't make it to school. My husband and co-workers loved them and my husband told me this was a keeper. The marshmallow melted just enough into a little puff and made them look fun to eat. Used boxed butter cake and worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
I was quite disappointed by this recipe. I was looking for something different to take to a potluck that the kids would like, and no one touched them! The marshmallow topping melted and made a sticky mess. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This recipe is very clever and a neat idea but I ended up throwing away about half of them after a week of nobody eating them. I think they were a little dry and it might be better if the chocolate was melted throughout the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States