Sunshine S'more Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Darcy Hafler
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Great recipe and definitely use your imagination! After reading numerous reviews about the marshmallow icing, I cheated and bought the Marshmallow Brownie topping, popped it in the microwave and drizzled it on top. It hardened when it cooled and still tasted great. I also didn't put the kiss in the middle. Instead I used chocolate icing and made chocolate curls to add on top. Another idea for the graham cracker is to use 100 calorie Fudge Shoppe Grahams Right Bites, mini-graham crackers with chocolate on one side. One pouch pounded out is 2T to use inside the cupcake and then use them whole to put on top. Have fun with this recipe and see what works for you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Hafler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Overall a solid recipe! I used peanut butter cups instead of kisses. And I broiled mini marshmallows on top instead of fluff. I'm not sure if I did something wrong though with the graham cracker crumbs because they just sort of fell off the cupcake when I took a bite. But I'm really happy with the flavor! Word of caution- watch the marshmallows carefully if you choose to broil because they can burn quickly. Had to scrape them off and do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
They were dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy_rose_25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Pretty tasty. The graham cracker crumbs that were crumbled on top spilled all over and I had a hard time spreading the marshmallow creme, but overall they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Schultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xrawringxdinox
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made a couple tweeks when I made mine. First, I used a homemade devil's food cake recipe for the batter. Second I added 1/4 cup of graham cracker crumbs to the recipe instead of the 2 tbls. I also didn't do the chocolate kiss in the middle, since I used a chocolate batter. Overall I thought it was an o.k. recipe. I could barely taste the graham crackers. I decorated mine with the leftover graham cracker crumbs and then shredded chocolate. Ohh, and I also immediately put mine in the freezer for about 5 minutes after icing them for the fluff to harden so it wouldn't run. It worked like a charm. But I would recommend keeping them refrigerated because once the fluff starts to heat back up it will start to run again. Also, I think next time I am going to fill the cupcakes with fluff ... Maybe it will add a little more to them. I am also contemplating making a graham cracker pie like crust on the bottom of the cupcake instead of mixing it into the mix to see if that would make the graham crackers stand out a little more. Anyway, this recipe definitely inspired me and with a few changes could be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were yummy! I didn't get my Graham crackers crushed real fine but it was nice having bigger bits in the cake. I also just out marshmello on as each person ate them. I didn't want a sticky mess. I did out the Graham crackers on top when baking them. If the kiss would have melted I would have given them 5 stars. They were still a hit and I will make them again I am sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I think I read almost all of the reviews before tackling this recipe. I ended up making it 3 different ways because I couldn't make up my mind as to which I would like the best. I made the batter as written with the kiss. After baking, I piped marshmallow cream onto several cupcakes and sprinkled with graham crumbs. Then I placed them under the broiler until slightly toasted. I let the other cupcakes cool and then piped some with more marshmallow cream topped with a piece of graham cracker and mini chocolate chips. And finally, I topped a few with chocolate frosting, marshmallows and a piece of graham. The ones with the toasted marshmallow are by far our favorites. The cupcake part is really good, moist, and we could definitely taste the graham cracker in it. Overall, this was a good recipe, one to use some creativity and play around with a little bit. Update: The day after I made these, the marshmallow cream had completely run off the cupcakes that I cooled and then added the cream. I would definitely broil the marshmallow cream after adding. Those are still pretty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dbfromfl
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Very tasty! Only hard part about this recipe is getting the marshmallow fluff on top nicely. I think maybe an actual marshmallow on top and melted would be easier. But otherwise a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
amazing i totally loved them and so did my family i used chocolate graham crackers but i forgot to put them on top and put extra marshmellow lol but it dripped on my table...still AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
These were fantastic!! Definately will give you the taste of a s'more. I made mini cupcakes and with every bite you get a little piece of chocolate-so yummy. Followed directions except used 1/2 of a marshmallow on some to compare (definately easier than scooping out fluff) but both were good. Will definately make again SOON!! I had so much batter left after making 10 full size 12 mini cupcake that I even make a s'more cake!! MOIST cake not dry like another reviewer stated. I could go on and on........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States