Sunshine S'more Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This recipe was soooooo good! It was actually easier then I thought it would be after reading some of the other reviews. That one about using hot water for the fluff definitely helped a lot!! I used the devils food cake and I'm not really a chocolate cake fan but I enjoyed these. In one batch I followed the recipe and they turned out good. In another batch I put miniature marshmallows and half a Hershey kiss in the middle, and put in 3tbs of graham cracker crumbs in the batter. I think the second batch turned out just a little better. I brought in 4 dozen to work and came home with 5! They were a big hit... Thanks for the great recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This recipe was great! Although I altered it...I used a boxed butter recipe yellow, followed the box directions except increased the butter to a full stick and added 1 cup of graham cracker meal. Put the marshmallow fluff in the microwave for 40 seconds and poured it into my piping bag. Put the piping bag in the refrigerater while the cupcakes were baking. Once the cupcakes came out of the oven, cut out a hole in the center using an apple corer and filled the hole with Hershey's milk chocolate chips that were at room temperature. Turned the broiler on with the rack in the middle. Piped the marshamallow creme on top of the cupcakes, immediately put them under the hot broiler to "toast" the marshmallow. Delicious! Chocolate was melted, cupcakes tasted like graham cracker and marshamallow was toasty! My kids liked them so much, they both wanted them for their birthdays instead of their usual favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MB
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I made these for my boyfriends Birthday. lots of work! a bit dry from the graham cracker crumbs( i did add a whole package to the cake batter) & i fallowed the cake directions. also marshmallow fluff was a pain to work with & it did slide off the tops in the oven but it was easy to fix once the fluff was a little hard. also instead of using kisses i used a regular Hershey bar & broke up the little squares & put 1 1/2 in the middle. perfect amount of chocolate & it melted perfectly & made the middle moist. it would have gotten a 5 stars if it wasnt so much work. the dryness was my fault. i do plan on making them again & now i know what to do to make them better. also i made a chocolate/peanut butter frosting. yummy! & topped it all off with a piece of graham cracker & a chocolate square. looked pretty until the chocolate square melted :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I used this recipe and added 1/2 graham crackers meal and three whole eggs. It can be made with a Spice cake too ... very similar taste. I used Rick's Buttercream, Caroline's Fudge frosting, pretzels, Red Sanding sugar and atomic Hot Cinnamon flames. It was a blast to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I took this idea and adapted it alittle bit. I used DEVILS FOOD CAKE MIX, like one reviewer suggested and instead of using the candy kisses, I used chocolate chips. I also, make a graham cracker crust for the bottom of the cupcakes. Overall, the cupcake turned out great. HOWEVER, I topped it with the Marshmellow creme and it was A MESS!!!! I had a difficult time getting the creme unto the cupcake and it left them GOOEY!!!! Plus, it runs all over the place. In the end, it looked like a kindergartener made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
These were really good, but I wanted more graham cracker taste in the cupcake, so I used 6 tbsp of graham cracker crumbs. I also switched the filling and the frosting- the cupcakes were going to be outside and I didn't want the marshmallow creme to melt off. For the frosting I made chocolate buttercream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
These were mediocre. I followed the recipe, except I used whole large marshmallows on top and melted them in the oven for a few seconds, to avoid the marshmallow creme mess. This was successful. I also used about 1 TBS. milk choc. chips per cupcake instead of kisses, because that's what I had on hand. I would recommend adding a tsp. vanilla to the cupcake batter. The one other thing that I think might have improved mine would have been to use the kisses, as that would have given a nice chunk of chocolate. The chocolate was the best thing about them. Just make regular smores....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amalie Hinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These cupcakes are awesome! I made them for my daughter to take to school for her birthday and everyone LOVED them! The teacher even sent home a note asking for the recipe! I used the french vanilla cake mix, and pretty much followed the recipe. I also piped the marshmellow creme on at the end and put them back in the oven under the broiler just till they were slightly browned. YUM:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
These cupcakes were delicious and pretty easy to make with a few modifications. 1) To simplify, I made the cake mix according to the package instructions. 2) I put 3 mini marshmallows at the bottom of the cupcake liner before adding the batter. During baking, the marshmallows melted into the batter, giving the french vanilla cake mix a delightful marshmallow flavor. 3) Based on the other reviews, I put a layer of graham cracker crumbs into the batter. Next time I bake these, I will layer more crumbs in the batter and put less on top--the thick top layer prevented any topping from sticking. 4) Halfway through baking I popped some mini marshmallows on top of each cupcake. This enabled them to sink into the cupcake a bit rather than falling off the graham cracker crumbs. 5) I drizzled some chocolate syrup on top--the kiss in the middle just isn't enough chocolate to give a true s'more flavor. I recommend serving immediately. I made mine the night before an event, and while they were still delicious, they are better when the kiss in the middle is still melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These are delicious cupcakes,and such a fun treat for kids! I chose to follow the package directions for the cake mix rather than using what is called for here. Also, I didn't feel like 2 tablespoons of graham cracker crumbs was enough in the batter to give it that graham flavor so I doubled the amount to 4 tbsp. I had a lot of chocolate chips i wanted to use up so I put those in the cupcakes rather than chocolate kisses and I think it worked out just fine. Broiling the marshmallow topping is a great idea IMO because that gives it the s'more flavor. I'm giving 4 stars for the idea and basic directions...5 stars if you go ahead and double the amount of graham cracker crumbs and use the cake mix directions. Thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States