Sunshine Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is a terrific start to a great smoothie. In a blender place a frozen banana, frozen berries and nonfat plain yogurt to make a complete breakfast drink. Delicious! Using orange juice also works well. Experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Because I don't have a juice machine, I added a little orange juice to get the ingredients moving in my blender. I skipped the mint because the kids don't like it. We all enjoyed this. EDITED: I make this often during the summer and add a spoonful or two of nonfat greek yogurt and a little vanilla extract which makes it creamy and delicious--very similar to an Orange Julius but with half the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Wonderful and refreshing! I added an additional approx. cup of chopped ice and water mix to smooth it out more. I also used frozen banana and berries (that's how I store them for smoothies). Love the fact too that I am getting my daily required serving of fruit and good nutrition from this wholesome blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I am not sure why mine didn't look like the picture? It looked like the color of rasberries. I always put leftover fruit in the freezer and noticed this recipe called to put the drink over ice. So, I put the fruit out to defrost some. It was icy but not frozen when I tried it this morning. However, as I suspected my blender would not budge, without any liquid, so I added 1/4 cup of orange juice since it was in the recipe already. It mainly tasted like a raspberry smoothie. Although, I didn't care for were the raspberry seeds coming through my straw and I thought the mint was a little strong. Interesting drink though, as I have never put herbs in a smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I don’t have a juice machine, but Hubs wanted a smoothie this morning and these were exactly the fruits I was looking for. An added bonus? – no yogurt. I wasn’t crazy about the idea of pouring this over ice anyway. So I blended the fruits as called for, using twice as many (frozen) raspberries, mainly just to use them up, a handful of ice and some milk to make the blender go. Knowing Hubs would prefer this, I skipped the mint in the mix, using it just for garnish. This worked well and tasted good too – only problem was that it needed some sweetness, so I mixed in Splenda to taste. Hubs loved it. I don’t drink smoothies myself, I just make them, so the final review is his – pleasantly sweet, filling, great, balanced blend of flavors and, surprisingly, he didn’t miss the typical yogurt-based smoothie. (Please note that this recipe calls for a juice machine, not a blender! The blender will not move without added liquid!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Sunshine Juice - what a great name. The sound of title brings happiness to my morning. I don't have a juicer, so I put everything in my Magic Bullet (R) to blend. I started with the oranges so that they would create the juice needed for the other ingredients. Added red raspberries and frozen banana. A delicious breakfast smoothie that contains a day's worth of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was amazing! I love the addition of mint, it gave a nice refreshing flavor to an already energizing smoothie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Great recipe! The only tip I can give you guys is you dont want to juice the banana as it doesn't actually have any juice in it you would want to juice everything except the banana and then put the juice in blender with the banana and then serve. Maybe that's why some of you didn't get the right color when making it. Other than that its awesome. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
My Nutri-bullet is the best for making these drinks!! Highly recommend one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I've been making almost this exact drink for over a quarter century to have with a plain bagel or toast for most breakfasts during the week!! What I do differently is use a blender with 6 to 8 oz orange juice (3 to 4 oranges), 1 cup of raspberries, 1 banana and instead of using mint I add a couple of heaping tablespoons of vanilla flavored protein powder for the flavor twist and the extra nutrition it bestows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunshine Juice

See how to make a healthy raspberry, orange, and banana drink in your juicer.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States