Sunshine Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Excellent smoothie! Love the extra boost the fresh mint lends to it. Every thing goes into the blender, including ice; If I have walnuts on hand, I'll throw in 2 tablespoons to the mix before blending in my V-mix machine. Nic, y'all have it "going on" across the pond - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
No need for a juice machine!! I have been making these since college when fruits and vegetables were all I could afford. Throw everything into the blender, it works great. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
First, I need to make a distinction between smoothies and juice. When you 'juice', you get a very rapid and easily digestible 'shot' of vitamins and minerals more quickly into your system because the fiber in fruit and veggies doesn't have to be digested (which takes much longer to travel through your system and get into your bloodstream.) That said, whether juicing or making a smoothie this is an excellent recipe but experiment with any and all fruits and veggies. Try 'juicing' kale, apples and a lemon for a super energy boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I make a version of this and the ingredients vary according to what fruits I have available. I mix crushed ice, orange juice, plain yogurt, whatever fruits I have available (could be one or several types), frozen banana and vanilla. Blend all in blender. Tip: If the taste is more tart that I want, I add 5-10 grapes to sweeten vs sugar. Great starter in the morning or anytime during the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Sunshine Juice is now my NEW favorite beverage... with just a few minor adaptions... 1 small ice cream scoop (3 Tbsp) OJ concentrate, 1 cup frozen raspberries, 1 ripe banana, 1 cup water added to a blender. (WISH I had some mint, which IS opt.). Blend until smooth to make 2 cups beautiful RICH pink bliss. Loved it!!! Sharon Anne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Great recipe. Been making this type drink in my magic bullet for years. If I need to make a larger one, I use my nutri-bullet. I keep a bag of frozen wild blueberries and pineapple chunks in my freezer all the time. I also freeze bananas that are starting to be overripe. I leave out the mint due to personal preference. No need to pour over ice. The more frozen fruits you use, the thicker it will become. I use the same ingredients as the recipe, minus the mint. In my magic bullet My favorite is to use - one orange, a banana, berries, couple chunks of pineapple, and Activia if I'm in the mood. It is such a versatile recipe. I just keep putting fruit in until it is full. One orange makes enough liquid for it. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I have a juicer, but put this in a blender instead. 1) Bananas don't juice, and 2) raspberries get mostly shot into the disposal container on mine... Anyway, I had thought I had raspberries, but didn't so I used strawberries instead. Very good drink! I basically had it for lunch. The second time I made it (the next day!) I added a container of Greek strawberry yougurt too. Oh, and I had some pineapple juice on hand, so I used that to get the blender going instead of water or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I've been making almost this exact drink for over a quarter century to have with a plain bagel or toast for most breakfasts during the week!! What I do differently is use a blender with 6 to 8 oz orange juice (3 to 4 oranges), 1 cup of raspberries, 1 banana and instead of using mint I add a couple of heaping tablespoons of vanilla flavored protein powder for the flavor twist and the extra nutrition it bestows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
My Nutri-bullet is the best for making these drinks!! Highly recommend one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Great recipe! The only tip I can give you guys is you dont want to juice the banana as it doesn't actually have any juice in it you would want to juice everything except the banana and then put the juice in blender with the banana and then serve. Maybe that's why some of you didn't get the right color when making it. Other than that its awesome. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sunshine Juice

See how to make a healthy raspberry, orange, and banana drink in your juicer.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States