Sunshine Hummus Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I am making these for my daughters wedding reception. She is decorating with apples, so everything we are eating is apples. I tried these at home and they were wonderful. But here are my changes. I use an Asagio sourdough bread9available at Costco. I also used Gala apples, feta cheese and some sudried tomatoes for color. Then I cut them in 4ths for wonderful appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I used whole wheat pita bread instead of multigrain sandwich bread. I only used one apple because my Granny Smith apple was too large and two of them would have overwhelmed the recipe. I diced the apple instead of cutting it. I will definitely make this again. It had an unusual, but good, flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this for my husband and me. I used 100% whole wheat bread, storebought hummus, granny smith apples, and sharp cheddar. My husband picked the apples off the sandwhich and ate them, but didn't like the combo together. I thought it was just "okay". I had high hopes for the sandwich because I love all the ingredients, but it just wasn't great. I ate it, but probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I thought this was great. Very interesting combo - I like cheese and apples together, but never thought of including hummus with them! To make it easier, I just popped my whole wheat bread in the toaster first, then used Sabra Classic Hummus and thinly sliced Honeycrisp apples (all I had on hand) with sliced sharp Cheddar and stuck it in my toaster oven. It was definitely different, and in a good way! I will totally make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
What an unexpectedly awesome sandwich! Apples + Hummus is an amazing flavor combo. I use whole wheat rolls and toast them on my stovetop. Once I threw a small handful of spinach between the apples and cheese to add some vegetable, that was great too. Slice the apples as thin as you can, they way they get "cooked" a bit more during broiling, which really brings out the tangy sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This sandwich is great and extremely easy. I used homemade humus and a heavy whole grain bread. It's perfect for those nights when you don't have enough time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
When I took the first bite, I wasn't sure I liked this...I liked each item individually, but not thinking I liked them together! After each successive bite the flavors were growing on me. By the time I ate the entire sandwich, I had decided I liked it and would definitely make this recipe again. I used Honey Crisp apples because that is what I had in the house, next time I'll try to stick to the recipe and use Granny Smith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
My boyfriend and I LOVE hummus and are always looking for different ways to serve it. These are awesome! I used rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheeky
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I'm so glad I found this recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand and needed an easy dinner for one. I was leery of the apple, so I sliced it very thin for one piece of bread, and didn't put any on the other piece. I'm so sorry I didn't use the apple for both. It added just the right amount of crunch to this sandwich as well as an interesting flavor. I toasted the bread in my toaster oven and then top-browned it rather than use the oven. It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
We thought these were a really tasty, filling meal! Thanks for posting this recipe, we will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Sunshine Juice

See how to make a healthy raspberry, orange, and banana drink in your juicer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States