Sunshine Hummus Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I am making these for my daughters wedding reception. She is decorating with apples, so everything we are eating is apples. I tried these at home and they were wonderful. But here are my changes. I use an Asagio sourdough bread9available at Costco. I also used Gala apples, feta cheese and some sudried tomatoes for color. Then I cut them in 4ths for wonderful appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I used whole wheat pita bread instead of multigrain sandwich bread. I only used one apple because my Granny Smith apple was too large and two of them would have overwhelmed the recipe. I diced the apple instead of cutting it. I will definitely make this again. It had an unusual, but good, flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this for my husband and me. I used 100% whole wheat bread, storebought hummus, granny smith apples, and sharp cheddar. My husband picked the apples off the sandwhich and ate them, but didn't like the combo together. I thought it was just "okay". I had high hopes for the sandwich because I love all the ingredients, but it just wasn't great. I ate it, but probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I thought this was great. Very interesting combo - I like cheese and apples together, but never thought of including hummus with them! To make it easier, I just popped my whole wheat bread in the toaster first, then used Sabra Classic Hummus and thinly sliced Honeycrisp apples (all I had on hand) with sliced sharp Cheddar and stuck it in my toaster oven. It was definitely different, and in a good way! I will totally make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
What an unexpectedly awesome sandwich! Apples + Hummus is an amazing flavor combo. I use whole wheat rolls and toast them on my stovetop. Once I threw a small handful of spinach between the apples and cheese to add some vegetable, that was great too. Slice the apples as thin as you can, they way they get "cooked" a bit more during broiling, which really brings out the tangy sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This sandwich is great and extremely easy. I used homemade humus and a heavy whole grain bread. It's perfect for those nights when you don't have enough time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
When I took the first bite, I wasn't sure I liked this...I liked each item individually, but not thinking I liked them together! After each successive bite the flavors were growing on me. By the time I ate the entire sandwich, I had decided I liked it and would definitely make this recipe again. I used Honey Crisp apples because that is what I had in the house, next time I'll try to stick to the recipe and use Granny Smith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
My boyfriend and I LOVE hummus and are always looking for different ways to serve it. These are awesome! I used rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheeky
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I'm so glad I found this recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand and needed an easy dinner for one. I was leery of the apple, so I sliced it very thin for one piece of bread, and didn't put any on the other piece. I'm so sorry I didn't use the apple for both. It added just the right amount of crunch to this sandwich as well as an interesting flavor. I toasted the bread in my toaster oven and then top-browned it rather than use the oven. It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
We thought these were a really tasty, filling meal! Thanks for posting this recipe, we will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Sunshine Juice

See how to make a healthy raspberry, orange, and banana drink in your juicer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States