Sunshine Hummus Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I used the rye bread that I just baked as the base for this. I had Pumpkin Hummus from AR, and layered on the apples and cheddar. The tastes of garlic from the hummus and the apple were strange together, but overall, this was great! I'll be trying this with other flavors of breads, hummuses, apples and cheeses--what a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Surprised. I was looking for new ways to uses the hummus I had. I put on wheat bread and topped with vegan cheddar cheese (non-dairy soy…not quite the same ?)…but was happily surprised by both the texture and good mix of flavors – not to out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I love this combination of flavors! Instead of bread, I use the Thomas' Sahara White Pita Bread and I skip the pre-toasting. Once the cheese is melted and bubbly, I slice it in quarters after and eat it like a little pizza. I think it would make a beautiful and easy-to-eat appetizer this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Interesting flavors. Not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiss the cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I had high hopes but was disappointed. Might try again with a different kind of hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this for my husband and me. I used 100% whole wheat bread, storebought hummus, granny smith apples, and sharp cheddar. My husband picked the apples off the sandwhich and ate them, but didn't like the combo together. I thought it was just "okay". I had high hopes for the sandwich because I love all the ingredients, but it just wasn't great. I ate it, but probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Very good sandwich - for me and for my young toddler. I used a 100% whole wheat bread, some purchased hummus, gala apple slices, and sharp cheddar. My toddler's been eating hummus since he was around a year old so the only thing I did different for him was to julienne the apples to make sure it wasn't a choking hazard. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I made this recipe because I could not picture how it would of tasted, and also because it received great reviews. I am still undecided on the recipe. I ate my sandwich, but I can't figure out if I like it or not. I'm thinking that next time I'll add more hummus. I think I'll also try pear and bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Since discovering this I've had it at least once every couple of weeks. It is a perfect use for the heel slice of the bread loaf, which I always used to throw away, but little did I realize it was meant for this. I prefer them open-faced, but maybe that's just me. I'm eating one right now.. Mmmm! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
A delicious and healthy - and most importantly - EASY meal. They are exceptionally good with gourmet bread and flavored hummus and some fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Sunshine Juice

See how to make a healthy raspberry, orange, and banana drink in your juicer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States