Sunshine Hummus Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
What an interesting combination of flavors. I'd never think to combine them, but it works. My husband and I both loved this. My three-year-old...not so much, but she's picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
We tried this for supper last night because we needed something quick, and it was surprisingly good and satisfying! We just had spicy hummus, gala apples and Mexican cheese on hand, but next time we're going to "gourmet" it up and use pine nut hummus, Granny Smiths and smoked gouda. I'm sure this will have a place in our quick-dinner repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was pretty good. Next time I will use a regular hummus (all I had this time was roasted red pepper). And I didn't like my flax seed wheat bread, next time I'll just use a regular whole wheat bread. I did not have granny smith's and believe they would have made it much better. I'm looking forward to trying it again with the right ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisGG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
These were great! We were skeptical, but looking for a new sandwich idea. My husband and I were both surprised with how much we liked these, as well as how filling they were. I used the zucchini hummus recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I'm still trying to decide if I like this or not. I adjusted it as I had boursin cheese and no cheddar, so I'll give the recipe the benefit of the doubt and say I liked it. Not sure if hubby would or not; I made while he was out of town and when I told him what it was (I made two but only ate one so one was in the fridge), he stated he might like it. It is a very intriguing recipe and I'm glad I gave it a shot. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
this really turned out very good. I Made some hummus and saw this recipe and decided to try it out. I did not have granny smith apple so i used gala apples instead. It still turned out very tasty. the sweetness of the apples with the cheese and hummus where a wonderful combination. I cannot wait to see how the granny smiths will taste with it. I will for sure make this again. yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I thought this was great. Very interesting combo - I like cheese and apples together, but never thought of including hummus with them! To make it easier, I just popped my whole wheat bread in the toaster first, then used Sabra Classic Hummus and thinly sliced Honeycrisp apples (all I had on hand) with sliced sharp Cheddar and stuck it in my toaster oven. It was definitely different, and in a good way! I will totally make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
My boyfriend and I LOVE hummus and are always looking for different ways to serve it. These are awesome! I used rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
What an unexpectedly awesome sandwich! Apples + Hummus is an amazing flavor combo. I use whole wheat rolls and toast them on my stovetop. Once I threw a small handful of spinach between the apples and cheese to add some vegetable, that was great too. Slice the apples as thin as you can, they way they get "cooked" a bit more during broiling, which really brings out the tangy sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was okay but I did used white bread, red apples and chedder cheese because that was what I had in the kitchen. I wonder if the Granny Smith Apples would of made a big difference along with the sharp chedder??? I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Sunshine Juice

See how to make a healthy raspberry, orange, and banana drink in your juicer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States