Sunshine Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I'm giving this a 2 because of the the inconvenience. This baking/basting business is for the birds. If you follow the instructions and use skin on, bone in thighs, you lose all the sauce when you take off the skin. You baste and baste and then you take off the flavor. The chicken was juicy and had decent flavor (it tasted like chicken), but most of the sauce was lost either when removing the skin or burned to the bottom of the glass pan. It felt like it took FOREVER because I was just sitting next to the oven waiting to baste again in 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Was very good. As with most things I cook I added paprika and seasoned salt. Soooo very good. Fam loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This turned out really well. I used 2 lbs of boneless, skinless thighs and followed everything else exactly as stated. Throughout dinner, my husband mentioned several times that the chicken was very good. Would definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This was really easy to make! I followed the recipe except for the corn syrup and used honey as other reviewer recommended. My family LOVED it. Thanks Charlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Delicious and my whole family, picky eaters included, loved it! I used minced garlic instead of garlic powder and I also added some Worcestershire sauce. Great recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Our family LOVED this! I used Honey instead of the corn syrup and it was fantastic! The thighs stayed moist and the skin carmalized with the sauce. My kids don't like bbq sauce so I told them it was honey (they love honey) when they finished and asked for seconds I told them what was in it. They asked me to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I was looking for a quick and simple recipe to cook some chicken legs, thighs and wings before they spoiled - this was it!! This is the simplest, easiest and an absolutely delicious way to accomplish just that!! The pieces cook up a little soggy from the rendered fat but that was nicely overcome by crisping up under the broiler for five minutes or so. Very simple and quick but very nice flavor. IMO, the flavor and look would make one think considerably more time was spent on the dish. I did score the meat, went skin on and bone in. Approximately one hour in the oven and five to seven minutes under a 475° boiler. Excellent!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Awesome recipe! I substituted honey after reading other reviews and upped the temp to broil for the last few minutes, this made it an amazing chicken to serve with rice. My family loved it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This chicken is so good. I followed the directions and everything turned out fine. I love the sauce it was sticky and sweet (delicious). My new favorite recipe, thanks Charlene Ricketts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
good but not great... smelled better than it actually tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States