Sunflower Seed Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Bland. The flavor is entirely unmemorable. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My adult daughter's a vegan, so I'm trying to get with the program, but this recipe epitomizes why I have often had issues with vegetarian/vegan cuisine. I disagree with the reviewer who said it had too much bite. It's very bland and paste-like. I'm really going to think about how I might tweak it if I were to make it again. Certainly more celery and onion, as well as other fresh veggies to give it the texture and flavor good vegan/vegetarian food can have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Hubby did not care for this recipe. Awkward combination of flavors and textures between hummus and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I like this! I had almost forgotten to add the lemon juice, then saw it sitting on the counter as I was sticking the spread in the refrigerator, so quickly added it. That is what really makes the spread work! I loved the chopped celery and onions with the smoother other ingredients. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
With a good bit of tweaking this came closer to 5 stars, but the combination of raw onion and that much lemon created such a bite that I had to spend a lot of time adjusting the flavors. I ended up adding olive oil and plain yogurt to get it more the consistency of hummus, and it was great. Loved the nuttiness of the sunflower seeds, so it was a great change of pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I came here to get some simple and practical recipes. This one is a big hit! I'll use it as a veggie dip, and on sandwiches for my hubby. I halved the recipe and forgot the water, but did put a splash of olive oil. I'll play with it next time. I might add some extra lemon, and maybe some cilantro. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I love sunflower seeds so I decided to make this. The outcome was ok, but a few things. I felt that the recipe was not clear on some things. For instance, do you use unsalted or salted sunflower seeds? If you do use salted, as I did, it will become too salty. I wish I had tasted the paste and added the soy sauce ONLY if necessary. On the celery stalk, do you use the celery including the leaves? I omitted the leaves out until the end to see if I would need to add it in. It did need the whole celery WITH the leaves, maybe even a bit more. I felt the paste needed more lemon juice than called for, maybe even a full cup. This may be due to the recipe being too salty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This dip was awesome. It tasted like a nutty version of hummus. I saved time by buying unsalted, pre-roasted sunflower seeds from the bulk food store. The first time I made it as is, and I thought the raw onion was too strong. Next time, I left out the onion, and substituted the water for olive oil for more flavour. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I love it! On toast this is so good. I didn't have any celery so I added some leek instead and extra garlic. I'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bray, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This was great. I found it needed a touch more lemon juice and a small clove of garlic extra. I have also added a little black pepper from time to time. BUt it is great, i use it where I work to make snacks for the employees..thanks Sue, great job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Seed Brittle

See how to make autumn’s perfect sweet snack.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States